Josephine Cox publicity shoot Oct 2006
Josephine Cox is an English author of family saga, historical fiction and women’s fiction novels. She has also written paranormal romance as Jane Brindle (her mother’s name). Josephine’s novels are set in the North Country – the same area of England she grew up in. Born in a cotton mill house in Blackburn, Lancashire in a family of ten children, Josephine was married at age 16. When her two sons went to school, she went to college and was accepted into the University of Cambridge, but was unable to accept, as she did not wish to live away from home. She went on to become a teacher. Josephine is one of the three most borrowed authors based on UK Public Lending Rights figures.

Josephine Cox published her first novel, Her Father’s Sins, in 1988. Below is a list of Josephine Cox’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Emma Grady Trilogy Books

Publication Order of The Journey Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Her Father's Sins (1988)Description / Buy at
Let Loose the Tigers (1988)Description / Buy at
Angels Cry Sometimes (1989)Description / Buy at
Take this Woman (1990)Description / Buy at
Whistledown Woman (1991)Description / Buy at
Don't Cry Alone (1992)Description / Buy at
The Tallow Image (1992)Description / Buy at
No Mercy (1992)Description / Buy at
Nobody's Darling (1993)Description / Buy at
Jessica's Girl (1993)Description / Buy at
Born to Serve (1994)Description / Buy at
More than Riches (1994)Description / Buy at
Scarlet (1995)Description / Buy at
A Little Badness (1995)Description / Buy at
Living a Lie (1995)Description / Buy at
A Time for Us (1996)Description / Buy at
The Devil You Know (1996)Description / Buy at
Cradle of Thorns (1997)Description / Buy at
The Seeker (1997)Description / Buy at
Miss You Forever (1997)Description / Buy at
Love Me or Leave Me (1998)Description / Buy at
Tomorrow the World (1998)Description / Buy at
No Heaven No Hell (1998)Description / Buy at
The Hiding Game (1999)Description / Buy at
The Gilded Cage (1999)Description / Buy at
Let It Shine (1999)Description / Buy at
Somewhere, Someday (1999)Description / Buy at
Looking Back (2000)Description / Buy at
Rainbow Days (2000)Description / Buy at
The Woman Who Left (2001)Description / Buy at
Bad Boy Jack (2002)Description / Buy at
Jinnie (2002)Description / Buy at
The Beachcomber (2003)Description / Buy at
Live the Dream (2004)Description / Buy at
Lovers And Liars (2004)Description / Buy at
The Loner (2007)Description / Buy at
Songbird (2008)Description / Buy at
Girl on the Platform (2008)Description / Buy at
Born Bad (2009)Description / Buy at
Divorced And Deadly (2009)Description / Buy at
Blood Brothers (2010)Description / Buy at
Midnight (2011)Description / Buy at
Three Letters (2012)Description / Buy at
The Broken Man (2013)Description / Buy at
The Runaway Woman (2014)Description / Buy at
Lonely Girl (2015)Description / Buy at
A Family Secret (2016)Description / Buy at
A Woman’s Fortune (2018)Description / Buy at
Two Sisters (2020)Description / Buy at
A Daughter’s Return (2021)Description / Buy at
A Time to Remember (2022)Description / Buy at
The Letter (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Child Of The North (2005)Description / Buy at

Notes: The standalone novels Scarlet, The Tallow Image, No Mercy, No Heaven, No Hell, The Seeker and The Hiding Game were all written as Jane Brindle; all were later re-issued as by J.T. Brindle.

If You Like Josephine Cox Books, You’ll Love…

Josephine Cox Synopsis: Jessica’s Girl is a standalone title by Josephine Cox. Despite being warned by her mother on her deathbed, Phoebe Mulligan has no choice but to throw herself on the mercy of her uncle, Edward. Taken from everything she loves, the poor young girl is delivered to Blackburn town, where she must live in a household terrorized by the cold, forbidding presence of her mother’s brother. Phoebe cannot understand why she is treated so harshly by Edward Dickens. She is not to know the guilty secret from his past, one that casts a sinister shadow over his feelings for his lovely niece…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Josephine Cox Books

Leave a Reply