Liu Cixin is a Chinese author best known for writing The Three-Body Problem and its sequels. The first book in the series was the recipient of the 2015 Hugo Award.

Cixin grew up in Luoshan County, Henan and then went on to graduate from the North China University of Water Conservancy and Electric Power in 1988. He would go to work as a computer engineer at a power plant while writing in his free time. He wrote China 2185 which earned him the moniker of the first Chinese cyberpunk author. Liu is a nine-time winner of China’s Galaxy Award. In 2018, he was awarded the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Imagination in Service to Society.

Get notified when Liu Cixin releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Three-Body Problem Books

The Three-Body Problem (2006)Description / Buy at
The Dark Forest (2008)Description / Buy at
Death's End (2010)Description / Buy at
The Redemption of Time (By: Baoshu) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Daishang Tade Yanjing / Her Eyes on the Belt (1998)Description / Buy at
Ball Lightning (2004)Description / Buy at
Supernova Era (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Liulang Diqiu / Vagabond Earth (1999)Description / Buy at
Quan Pingdai Zuse Sai Ganrao / The Complete Frequency Blocking Fortress (2000)Description / Buy at
Zhongguo Taiyang / The Chinese Sun (2001)Description / Buy at
Devourer (2002)Description / Buy at
Diqiu Dapao / Earth's Cannon (2002)Description / Buy at
Jingzi / Mirror (2003)Description / Buy at
Shanyang Renlei / To Support Mankind (2005)Description / Buy at
The Cretaceous Past (2005)Description / Buy at
The Micro-Age (2008)Description / Buy at
With Her Eyes (2008)Description / Buy at
The Weight of Memories (2010)Description / Buy at
Sun of China (2012)Description / Buy at
Mountain (2012)Description / Buy at
Taking Care of Gods (2012)Description / Buy at
The Circle (2014)Description / Buy at
Of Ants and Dinosaurs (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

The Wandering Earth (2005)Description / Buy at
To Hold Up the Sky (2020)Description / Buy at
A View from the Stars (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

(with Sylvain Runberg, Cai Jin, Ge Wendi, Bo Mu)

Sea of Dreams (2021)Description / Buy at
The Wandering Earth (2021)Description / Buy at
The Village Teacher (2021)Description / Buy at
Yuanyuan's Bubbles (2021)Description / Buy at
Butterfly (2022)Description / Buy at
The Circle (2022)Description / Buy at
For the Benefit of Mankind (With: Sylvain Runberg) (2022)Description / Buy at
The Three Body Problem, Part One (With: Cai Jin,Ge Wendi,Bo Mu) (2023)Description / Buy at
Taking Care of God Vol. 1 (With: Jun Yokoyama) (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Carbide Tipped Pens(2014)Description / Buy at
Invisible Planets(2016)Description / Buy at
Some of the Best from, 2016 Edition(2017)Description / Buy at
The Reincarnated Giant(2017)Description / Buy at
Twelve Tomorrows(2018)Description / Buy at
Broken Stars(2019)Description / Buy at
Clarkesworld Year Ten: Volume One(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Liu Cixin Books, You’ll Love…

The Three-Body Problem is the first book in the series of the same name. The book is set against the backdrop of China’s Cultural Revolution and focuses on a secret military project that is trying to establish contact with alien beings. The signal is captured by an alien civilization who makes plans to invade Earth as their world is on the brink of destruction. The people on Earth all have different feelings about the aliens. There are those who want to welcome the superior beings and have them save their corrupt world. While others wish to fight against the invasion.

To Hold Up the Sky is a short story collection from Cixin Liu that was released in 2020. The stories in this book will take readers across space and time. The stories take place in a variety of different locations from a rural mountain community where elementary students must use physics to prevent an alien invasion; to coal mines in northern China where new technology will either save lives of unleash a fire that will burn for centuries; to the very collapse of the universe itself. These stories have never been published in English prior to this release.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Liu Cixin Books

Leave a Reply