Lucy Arlington is the author of the Novel Idea Mystery series. The name Lucy Arlington is a pen name for the writing team of Ellery Adams and Sylvia May. The two wrote the series together before passing the name on to another author, Susan Furlong.

Ellery Adams is the author of the Books by the Bay Mysteries series, the Charmed Pie Shoppe Mysteries series, and the Book Retreat Mysteries series. While Sylvia May made her debut as an author with The Unraveling of Abby Settel.

Get notified when Lucy Arlington releases a new book at

Publication Order of Novel Idea Mysteries Books

Buried in a Book (2012)Description / Buy at
Every Trick in the Book (2013)Description / Buy at
Books, Cooks, and Crooks (2013)Description / Buy at
Played by the Book (2015)Description / Buy at
Off the Books (2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lucy Arlington Books, You’ll Love…

Buried in a Book is the first book in the Novel Idea Mystery series. Lila Wilkins is a journalist who loses her job at the age of forty-five. Without many options, she decides to take an internship at A Novel Idea, a thriving literary agency in North Carolina. She’s excited to be paid to read, but does find the job to be difficult with the piles of query letters and unique co-workers. Things get complicated when an aspiring author dies in the agency’s waiting room. Lila discovers a series of threatening letters and she becomes determined to find out what lead to this author’s untimely death.

The series continues with Every Trick in the Book. Lila is loving her life in Inspiration Valley, North Carolina as this book begins. The Book and Author Festival is where Lila expects to discover some new authors for the Novel Idea Literary Agency, but instead what she finds is a the body of an editor. Worse, that’s not the only murder taking place when a blossoming author is killed. Lila believes that the two murders are linked and decides to investigate herself. As she begins to hunt down the killer, she finds that the clues may be hidden in a manuscript.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lucy Arlington Books

Leave a Reply