Margaret Mayhew is an English author of mystery and historical romance novels. She writes the Village Mysteries series. Margaret Mayhew was born in London, and recalls the London Blitz as her first memories. She began writing when she was in her thirties. Margaret is married to Philip Kaplan, a fellow author, and lives in Gloucestershire, England.

Margaret Mayhew made her debut as a published novelist in 1976 with the novels Three Black Cormorants and The Master of Aysgarth. Below is a list of Margaret Mayhew’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Margaret Mayhew releases a new book at

Publication Order of Village Mysteries Books

Old Soldiers Never Die (1999)Description / Buy at
Three Silent Things (2008)Description / Buy at
Dry Bones (2012)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Link (2014)Description / Buy at
Bitter Poison (2016)Description / Buy at
The Lifeline (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Master of Aysgarth (1976)Description / Buy at
Three Black Cormorants (1976)Description / Buy at
The Cry of the Owl (1977)Description / Buy at
The Railway King (1979)Description / Buy at
The Owlers (1979)Description / Buy at
The Flame and the Furnace (1982)Description / Buy at
Regency Charade (1986)Description / Buy at
Bluebirds. The Heartbreaking and Triumph Story of Four Women in Wartime (1993)Description / Buy at
Bluebirds (1993)Description / Buy at
The Crew (1997)Description / Buy at
The Little Ship (1999)Description / Buy at
Our Yanks (2001)Description / Buy at
The Pathfinder (2002)Description / Buy at
Those in Peril (2003)Description / Buy at
I'll Be Seeing You (2004)Description / Buy at
Rosebuds (2004)Description / Buy at
A Foreign Field (2005)Description / Buy at
Quadrille (2005)Description / Buy at
The Boat Girls (2007)Description / Buy at
The Other Side Of Paradise (2009)Description / Buy at
The Last Wolf (2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Margaret Mayhew Books, You’ll Love…

  • Rosie Archer
  • Deborah Burrows
  • Daisy Styles

Margaret Mayhew Synopses: In The Boat Girls by Margaret Mayhew, the year is 1943, and three very different girls are longing to do their part for the war. Frances, Prudence and Rosalind become friends when they join the women working the canal boats. A tough, unglamorous task – but one which brings them all unexpected rewards.

The Other Side of Paradise is a standalone title by Margaret Mayhew. With Britain in the middle of war, Singapore, secure in the supremacy of the British Empire goes on partying. When Susan Roper meets an Australian doctor who warns her of the danger they are in, she dismisses him as an ignorant colonial.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Margaret Mayhew Books

One Response to “Order of Margaret Mayhew Books”

  1. Julianne Mauger: 3 years ago

    Please more village mystery books. My husband and I love them. the writing is excellent and the people of the village Frog End are brought to life in a special way MORE MORE MORE Please .


Leave a Reply