Marjorie Eccles is a British author best known for her Gil Mayo series of books. She won a Agatha Christie Styles Award for a short story early in her career and has also been nominated for the prestigious Ellis Peters Dagger Award.

Eccles was born in Yorkshire, United Kingdom where she grew up and spent much of her life. She currently lives with her husband in Hertfordshire where she enjoys working on her garden. Her Gil Mayo series of books was actually adapted by the BBC as a television show which starred Alistair McGowan as the title character.

Get notified when Marjorie Eccles releases a new book at

Publication Order of Gil Mayo Books

Cast a Cold Eye (1988)Description / Buy at
Death of a Good Woman (1989)Description / Buy at
Requiem for a Dove (1990)Description / Buy at
More Deaths Than One (1991)Description / Buy at
Late of This Parish (1992)Description / Buy at
The Company She Kept (1993)Description / Buy at
An Accidental Shroud (1994)Description / Buy at
A Death of Distinction (1995)Description / Buy at
A Species of Revenge (1996)Description / Buy at
Killing Me Softly (1998)Description / Buy at
The Superintendent's Daughter (1999)Description / Buy at
A Sunset Touch (2000)Description / Buy at
Untimely Graves (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tom Richmonds Books

Echoes of Silence (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Herbert Reardon Books

Broken Music (2009)Description / Buy at
A Dangerous Deceit (2013)Description / Buy at
Heirs and Assigns (2015)Description / Buy at
The Property of Lies (2017)Description / Buy at
Darkness Beyond (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Arabesque of Daisies (As:Jennifer Hyde) (1992)Description / Buy at
A Handful of Shadows (As:Jennifer Hyde) (1993)Description / Buy at
Pandora's Box (1995)Description / Buy at
A Secret Shore (As:Jennifer Hyde) (1995)Description / Buy at
Winter Magic (As:Jennifer Hyde) (1995)Description / Buy at
Killing a Unicorn (2002)Description / Buy at
The Shape of Sand (2004)Description / Buy at
Shadows and Lies (2006)Description / Buy at
Last Nocturne (2008)Description / Buy at
The Cuckoo's Child (2011)Description / Buy at
After Clare (2012)Description / Buy at
The Firebird's Feather (2014)Description / Buy at
Against the Light (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Account Rendered And Other Stories (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Murder, They Wrote(1997)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 6(1997)Description / Buy at

If You Like Marjorie Eccles Books, You’ll Love…

Cast A Cold Eye is the first book in the Gil Mayo series. Mayo takes a promotion that takes him from Yorkshire to the fictional town of Lavenstock. We quickly find out that Mayo likes to get all the facts before accusing someone and that it annoys him when other detectives attempt to jump to conclusion. When an award-winning architect is found dead in him home and there are plenty of people who may have wanted him dead. A good introduction to Mayo and a solid mystery.

The Herbert Reardon series is another popular series from Eccles. This series is set in 1919 England and the first book is Broken Music. It is post World War I and the soldiers are making their way home. Former police sergeant heads back to the village of Broughton Underhill where he hopes to solve an old murder from before the beginning of the war. This books does a great job of tying together the horrors of war with the anxiety of coming home. The loves and losses of wartime will come to a head as Reardon attempts to solve this case, once and for all.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Marjorie Eccles Books

Leave a Reply