Mary Anna Evans is an author best known as the writer and creator of the award-winning Faye Longchamp Archaeological Mysteries series of books. The series began in 2013 with Artifacts and has written many more books in the series since that release.

In addition to writing, Evans is a a university professor of writing. She is also a trained and licensed chemical engineer and she has her degree in engineering physics, but history is her passion and has lead to her writing the Faye Longchamp series. When she is not working, she enjoys reading and spending time with her family.

Get notified when Mary Anna Evans releases a new book at

Publication Order of Faye Longchamp Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Wounded Earth (1995)Description / Buy at
The Physicists' Daughter (2022)Description / Buy at
The Traitor Beside Her (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

(with Lillian Sellers)

A Singularly Unsuitable Word (2010)Description / Buy at
Mouse House (2010)Description / Buy at
Starch (With: Lillian Sellers) (2010)Description / Buy at
Twin Set (2011)Description / Buy at
Land of the Flowers (2013)Description / Buy at
Low-Budget Monster Flick (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Your Novel, Day by Day (2012)Description / Buy at
The Bloomsbury Handbook to Agatha Christie (With: J.C. Bernthal) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Kudzu Christmas(2005)Description / Buy at
A Merry Band of Murderers(2006)Description / Buy at
Florida Heat Wave(2010)Description / Buy at
The Faking of the President(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary Anna Evans Books, You’ll Love…

Artifacts is the first book in the Faye Longchamp Archaeological Mysteries series. The book starts with Faye doing her best to hang to Joyeuse, a moldering plantation hidden along the Florida coast. The house has been in the family since her great-great-grandmother Cally came to own the plantation as a newly freed slave and it has been in the family ever since. Now, taxes are getting beyond Faye’s ability to pay them so she decides to go digging for artifacts on the property to try and pay down the debt. Instead of finding something worth money, she instead finds a human skull. Instead of going to the authorities she decides to investigate the murder herself.

Another good book in the series is called Catacombs and this one has Faye staying at a historic Oklahoma City hotel when an explosion hits. She is rocked, but okay. The explosion has a silver lining though as it manages to crack open the old hotel’s floor to reveal subterranean chambers that had housed Chinese immigrants a century before. It is a fascinating find and Faye is excited to check it out, but when the bodies of three children are found down there her fascination turns to dread.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Anna Evans Books

Leave a Reply