Mary Miller is an American author known for writing the novels The Last Days of California and Biloxi. She has also published the short story collections, Always Happy Hour and Big World.

In addition to her published work, Mary has also had her writing appear in McSweeney’s Quarterly, American Short Fiction, and The Paris Review. She was selected as a James A. Michener Fellow in Fiction at the University of Texas. Miller was also a Renée Grisham Writer-in-Residence at the University of Mississippi. The author grew up in Mississippi where she still lives to this day.

Get notified when Mary Miller releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Days of California (2013)Description / Buy at
Biloxi (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Choose Wisely: 35 Women Up To No Good(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary Miller Books, You’ll Love…

The Last Days of California was the debut novel from Mary Miller. The story follows a fifteen-year-old girl named Jess whose preacher father packs up the family to move to California with the goal of saving as many souls as possible before the Second Coming. Jess does her part handing out tracts at every rest stop and gas station on the way. However, her belief begins to fray which leads to her realization that her family is beginning to fall apart. Miller’s debut was selected as a Barnes & Noble Discover pick, an Indie Next pick, and was a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice Selection.

Miller’s second novel released was Biloxi. The story follows Louis who was recently left by his wife of thirty-seven years. Worse, his father recently passed and he retired from his job because he was expecting an inheritance that did not come. He now lives a quiet life of watching TV and ignoring his ex-wife and daughter. Then one day he stops at a sign advertising free dogs and meets a man named Harry Davidson. He offers him an overweight mixed breed named Layla which Louis takes home. The two become close and Louis finds himself happy for the first time in a long time.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Miller Books

Leave a Reply