Barbara Kingsolver (Photo Credit: David Wood)
Barbara Kingsolver is an American author as well as being a poet and an essayist. She earned degrees in Biology at DePauw University and the University of Arizona. Topics covered in her novels include social justice, biodiversity, feminism and how humans interact with their environments. Ever since 1993, all of Kingsolver’s books have made the New York Times Bestseller List. She has won the Orange Prize for Fiction and the National Humanities Medal as well as having being nominated for PEN/Faulkner Award and the Pulitzer Prize.

Barbara Kingsolver became a published author in 1988 with the novel The Bean Trees. Below is a list of Barbara Kingsolver’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Barbara Kingsolver releases a new book at

Publication Order of Greer Family Books

The Bean Trees (1988)Description / Buy at
Pigs in Heaven (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Animal Dreams (1990)Description / Buy at
The Poisonwood Bible (1998)Description / Buy at
Prodigal Summer (2000)Description / Buy at
The Lacuna (2009)Description / Buy at
Flight Behavior (2012)Description / Buy at
Unsheltered (2018)Description / Buy at
Demon Copperhead (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Homeland (1989)Description / Buy at
Another America/Otra America (1992)Description / Buy at
How to Fly (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

High Tide in Tucson: Essays from Now or Never (1995)Description / Buy at
Holding the Line: Women in the Great Arizona Mine Strike of 1983 (1996)Description / Buy at
Small Wonder: Essays (2002)Description / Buy at
Last Stand: America's Virgin Lands (2002)Description / Buy at
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: Our Year of Season Eating (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Faber Stories Books

A Good Man is Hard to Find (By: Flannery O'Connor) (1949)Description / Buy at
The Inner Room (By: Robert Aickman) (1968)Description / Buy at
Daughters of Passion (By: Julia O'Faolain) (1982)Description / Buy at
Giacomo Joyce (By: Richard Ellmann) (1983)Description / Buy at
Homeland (1989)Description / Buy at
Shanti (By: Vikram Chandra) (1997)Description / Buy at
Sonny Liston Was a Friend of Mine (By: Thom Jones) (1998)Description / Buy at
An Elegy for Easterly (By: Petina Gappah) (2009)Description / Buy at
The Shielding of Mrs Forbes (By: Alan Bennett) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Cheater's Guide to Love (By: Junot Díaz) (2012)Description / Buy at
Mrs Fox (By: Sarah Hall) (2014)Description / Buy at
Mostly Hero (By: Anna Burns) (2014)Description / Buy at
Mr Salary (By: Sally Rooney) (2016)Description / Buy at
Come Rain or Come Shine (By: Kazuo Ishiguro) (2019)Description / Buy at
Dante and the Lobster (By: Samuel Beckett) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Victim (By: P.D. James) (2019)Description / Buy at
Paradise (By: Edna O'Brien) (2019)Description / Buy at
Cosmopolitan (By: Akhil Sharma) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Lydia Steptoe Stories (By: Djuna Barnes) (2019)Description / Buy at
Mary Ventura and The Ninth Kingdom (By: Sylvia Plath) (2019)Description / Buy at
Terrific Mother (By: Lorrie Moore) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Country Funeral (By: John McGahern) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Forester's Daughter (By: Claire Keegan) (2019)Description / Buy at
Three Types of Solitude (By: Brian W. Aldiss) (2019)Description / Buy at
A River in Egypt (By: David Means) (2019)Description / Buy at
Fairy Tales (By: Marianne Moore) (2019)Description / Buy at
Ghostly Stories (By: Celia Fremlin) (2019)Description / Buy at
Intruders (By: Adrian Tomine) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

Coyote's Wild Home (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mid-life Confidential(1994)Description / Buy at
The Eloquent Essay(2000)Description / Buy at
Writers on Writing(2001)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2001(2001)Description / Buy at
Touchstone Anthology of Contemporary Creative Nonfiction(2007)Description / Buy at
Sisters(2009)Description / Buy at
Hope Beneath Our Feet(2010)Description / Buy at
To Eat with Grace(2014)Description / Buy at
Way More than Luck(2015)Description / Buy at
Plough Quarterly No. 4: Earth(2015)Description / Buy at
Letters to a Young Farmer(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Barbara Kingsolver Books, You’ll Love…

Barbara Kingsolver Synopsis: The Poisonwood Bible is about the wife and daughters of Nathan Price. Price is an evangelical Baptist who brings his family and mission to the Congo in 1959. They bring all their belongings with them, but see it all transformed once it all gets there.

The Lacuna is about Harrison William Shepherd, a man is on the search for his own identity.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Barbara Kingsolver Books

2 Responses to “Order of Barbara Kingsolver Books”

  1. Irene: 1 year ago

    I doubt your narrow puritanical mind allowed you to finish the book, because then you MIGHT have been able to grasp why it won this year’s Nobel Prize for literature.

    It’s impossible to widen your understanding of the world when viewed through a straw.

    it’s impossible to understand what others feel when living life in a bubble of your own device. it physical or psychological.

    It’s impossible to hear what others may teach you, when you tell yourself your words are the only worthy words.

    May your self-sculpted highly-intolerant god take mercy on you for forcing him into such an unempathetic and unjoyful mold.


  2. Barbara Certain: 1 year ago

    I’ve read every book that Barbara has written and very much enjoyed and looked forward to them. However we seem to have hit a snag with Demon Copperhead,
    I consider it pure filth and so disappointing!!
    Has everybody sank to this degree in order to make a few bucks? Where have her writing skills gone?
    I have no words really to describe how I feel to know I can not read this book nor probably any that she writes from this point on.
    The best thing I can do with this book is to burn it so no one else sees the level the writings have sank to.


Leave a Reply