Sue Monk Kidd (Photo Credit: Sigirid Estrada)
Sue Monk Kidd is an American author of women’s fiction and non-fiction books. Sue grew up in Georgia and graduated from Texas Christian University with her B.S. in nursing and went on to become a Registered Nurse. After taking writing classes and attending writers’ conferences, Sue began a writing career. At first, she wrote spiritual memoirs, but later moved towards writing about feminism. Her first novel, The Secret Life of Bees was adapted for stage and film – the latter starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, Alicia Keys and Sophie Okonedo.

Sue Monk Kidd made her debut as a published author in 1987 with the non-fiction books This is the Day and God’s Joyful Surprise: Finding Yourself Loved. Her debut as a novelist came in 2002 with the novel The Secret Life of Bees. Below is a list of Sue Monk Kidd’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Sue Monk Kidd releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Secret Life of Bees (2001)Description / Buy at
The Mermaid Chair (2004)Description / Buy at
The Invention of Wings (2014)Description / Buy at
The Book of Longings (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

God's Joyful Surprise: Finding Yourself Loved (1987)Description / Buy at
This Is the Day (1987)Description / Buy at
All Things Are Possible (1988)Description / Buy at
When the Heart Waits: Spiritual Direction for Life's Sacred Questions (1990)Description / Buy at
Love's Hidden Blessings: God Can Touch Your Life When You Least Expect It (1990)Description / Buy at
The Dance of the Dissident Daughter: A Woman's Journey from Christian Tradition to the Sacred Feminine (1996)Description / Buy at
A Luminous Presence: One Woman's Awakening to the Inner Life (2005)Description / Buy at
Firstlight: The Early Inspirational Writings of Sue Monk Kidd (2006)Description / Buy at
Traveling with Pomegranates (With: Ann Kidd Taylor) (2009)Description / Buy at
Business Opportunities at Home: How to Start and Maintain Home Based Business (2014)Description / Buy at
The Spiritual Sampler (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Instaread Summary Books

Summary of The Pearl That Broke Its Shell (By: Nadia Hashimi,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of A Little Life (By: Hanya Yanagihara,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of The Children Act (By: Ian McEwan,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of The Light Between Oceans (By: M.L. Stedman,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of The Boston Girl (By: Anita Diamant,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of The Invention of Wings (With: Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary, Analysis & Review of A Gentleman in Moscow (By: Amor Towles,Instaread Summaries) (2019)Description / Buy at
Summary of Vinegar Girl (By: Anne Tyler,Instaread Summaries) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hungry Hearts: Essays on Courage, Desire, and Belonging(2021)Description / Buy at

Note: Traveling with Pomegranates was written with Ann Kidd Taylor.

If You Like Sue Monk Kidd Books, You’ll Love…

Sue Monk Kidd Synopsis: In Traveling with Pomegranates by Sue Monk Kidd & Ann Kidd Taylor, the mother and daughter write about their travels throughout Greece, Turkey and France while they’re each trying to redefine themselves and re-discover each other.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sue Monk Kidd Books

Leave a Reply