Mary Robinette Kowal is an American author of science fiction and fantasy novels. She writes the Glamourist Histories series. Having written in high school and college, Mary earned her degree in Art Education, minoring in theatre, and then going into a career as a professional puppeteer. It wasn’t until she had a niece and nephew that moved to China that she would start writing again. Writing children’s fantasy gave her a way to remain connected with the kids. She then began submitting short stories, looking to get published. Mary also narrates audiobooks for several authors. She lives in Chicago with her husband, Rob.

Mary Robinette Kowal made her debut as a published novelist in 2010 with the novel Shades of Milk and Honey. Below is a list of Mary Robinette Kowal’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Mary Robinette Kowal releases a new book at

Publication Order of Glamourist Histories Books

Shades of Milk and Honey (2010)Description / Buy at
Glamour in Glass (2012)Description / Buy at
Without a Summer (2013)Description / Buy at
Valour and Vanity (2014)Description / Buy at
Of Noble Family (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lady Astronaut Books

The Lady Astronaut of Mars (2012)Description / Buy at
We Interrupt This Broadcast (2013)Description / Buy at
The Phobos Experience (2015)Description / Buy at
Rocket's Red (2015)Description / Buy at
Amara's Giraffe (2018)Description / Buy at
The Calculating Stars (2018)Description / Buy at
The Fated Sky (2018)Description / Buy at
Articulated Restraint (2019)Description / Buy at
The Relentless Moon (2020)Description / Buy at
The Martian Contingency (2025)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Lady Astronaut Books

We Interrupt This Broadcast(2013)Description / Buy at
The Calculating Stars(2018)Description / Buy at
Articulated Restraint(2019)Description / Buy at
The Fated Sky(2018)Description / Buy at
The Relentless Moon(2020)Description / Buy at
The Martian Contingency(2025)Description / Buy at
The Phobos Experience(2015)Description / Buy at
Amara's Giraffe(2018)Description / Buy at
Rocket's Red(2015)Description / Buy at
The Lady Astronaut of Mars(2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Katwalk (By: Maria Murnane) (2014)Description / Buy at
Ghost Talkers (2016)Description / Buy at
The Original (With: Brandon Sanderson) (2020)Description / Buy at
The Spare Man (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Evil Robot Monkey (2008)Description / Buy at
First Flight (2009)Description / Buy at
For Want of a Nail (2011)Description / Buy at
Kiss Me Twice (2012)Description / Buy at
The Escapement of Blackledge (2016)Description / Buy at
Forest of Memory (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

Molly on the Moon (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Scenting the Dark and Other Stories (2009)Description / Buy at
Word Puppets (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Prime Codex(2007)Description / Buy at
Science Fiction: The Best of the Year, 2008 Edition(2008)Description / Buy at
Evil Robot Monkey(2008)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 22(2008)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy, 2009(2009)Description / Buy at
Clockwork Phoenix 2(2009)Description / Buy at
Realms 2(2009)Description / Buy at
The Hugo Award Showcase: 2010 Volume(2010)Description / Buy at
Apex Magazine #10, March 2010(2010)Description / Buy at
Asimov's Science Fiction, September 2010(2010)Description / Buy at
The Best of Talebones(2010)Description / Buy at
2020 Visions(2010)Description / Buy at
The Book of Apex: Volume 2 of Apex Magazine(2010)Description / Buy at
Apex Magazine #20, January 2011(2011)Description / Buy at
Robots: The Recent A.I.(2012)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Steampunk(2012)Description / Buy at
Apex Magazine - October 2012(2012)Description / Buy at
The Year's Top Short SF Novels 2(2012)Description / Buy at
The Mad Scientist's Guide to World Domination(2013)Description / Buy at
The Book of Apex: Volume 4(2013)Description / Buy at
Coming Soon Enough Six Tales of Technology's Future(2014)Description / Buy at
Athena's Daughters, Vol. 1(2014)Description / Buy at
Shadows Beneath(2014)Description / Buy at
The Many Tortures of Anthony Cardno(2014)Description / Buy at
Time Travel: Recent Trips(2014)Description / Buy at
You're Not Alone(2014)Description / Buy at
Unbound(2016)Description / Buy at
Forever Magazine Issue 13(2016)Description / Buy at
Women in Practical Armor(2016)Description / Buy at
Whitehall - Season One Volume One(2016)Description / Buy at
Whitehall - Season One Volume Two(2016)Description / Buy at
Shimmer Magazine 35(2017)Description / Buy at
Futurescapes(2017)Description / Buy at
The Long List Anthology Volume 3(2017)Description / Buy at
Shimmer 2017: The Collected Stories(2017)Description / Buy at
The Best of Uncanny(2018)Description / Buy at
Robots vs. Fairies(2018)Description / Buy at
Worlds Seen in Passing: Ten Years of Short Fiction(2018)Description / Buy at
The Long List Anthology Volume 4(2018)Description / Buy at
Shimmer: The Best Of(2020)Description / Buy at
Escape Pod(2020)Description / Buy at
The Long List Anthology, Volume 6(2020)Description / Buy at
Relics, Wrecks and Ruins(2021)Description / Buy at
The Long List Anthology Volume 8(2022)Description / Buy at
Uncanny Magazine Issue 50: January-February 2023(2023)Description / Buy at
Life Beyond Us(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary Robinette Kowal Books, You’ll Love…

Mary Robinette Kowal Synopsis: The Lady Astronaut of Mars is a short story by Mary Robinette Kowal. Thirty years ago, Elma York led the expedition that ending up leading to life on Mars. For years she’s been wanting to go back up there, to once more explore the stars. But there are few opportunities for an aging astronaut, even the famous Lady Astronaut of Mars. When her chance finally comes, it may be too late. Elma must decide whether to stay with her sickening husband in what will surely be the twilight years of his life, or to have her final adventure and plunge deeper into the well of space.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Robinette Kowal Books

Leave a Reply