Mary Shelley by Richard Rothwell
Mary Shelley (1797-1851) was an English author of gothic fiction and horror novels. In addition to being a novelist, she was also a short story writer, dramatist, essayist, biographer, travel writer, and editor for her husband, Percy Bysshe Shelley. Mary was the daughter of William Godwin, a political philosopher, and writer/philosopher/feminist Mary Wollstonecraft. She is best known for her novel Frankenstein, but her success was by no means limited to it, as demonstrated in Emily Sunstein’s biography, Mary Shelley: Romance and Reality.

Mary Shelley’s first novel was entitled Frankenstein; Or, The Modern Prometheus, originally released in 1818 in three volumes. Much of her work has been published and re-published posthumously. Below is a list of Mary Shelley’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Frankenstein (1818)Description / Buy at
The Last Man (1826)Description / Buy at
The Fortunes of Perkin Warbeck (1830)Description / Buy at
Lodore / The Beautiful Widow (1835)Description / Buy at
Falkner (1837)Description / Buy at
Proserpine and Midas (1922)Description / Buy at
Maurice, or The Fisher's Cot (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Mortal Immortal (1831)Description / Buy at
The Mourner and Other Stories (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Transformation (1831)Description / Buy at
The Invisible Girl, and The Dream (1831)Description / Buy at
The Pilgrims (1837)Description / Buy at
The Heir of Mondolfo (1877)Description / Buy at
Matilda (1959)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Short Stories of Detection, Mystery and Horror(1931)Description / Buy at
The Gentlewomen of Evil: An Anthology of Rare Supernatural Stories from the Pens of Victorian Ladies(1967)Description / Buy at
Witches' Brew(1984)Description / Buy at
The Dreaming Sex(2010)Description / Buy at
50 Classic Novellas(2011)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Body Horror(2012)Description / Buy at
Classic Horror Anthology, Volume One(2016)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Infinite: Tales from the Outer Reaches(2018)Description / Buy at
Writers: Their Lives and Works(2018)Description / Buy at
Birthing Monsters(2018)Description / Buy at
Mary Shelley Horror Stories(2018)Description / Buy at
30 Occult & Supernatural Masterpieces You Have to Read Before You Die(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary Shelley Books, You’ll Love…

Mary Shelley Synopsis: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley is the horror classic about an experiment that goes horribly wrong, and a monster who swears revenge on his creator. Swiss student Victor Frankenstein uncovers the secret to bringing life to parts of the deceased, and in mixing and matching body parts to create a monster, ultimately sets the stage for his own demise and that of everything he loves when the monster is rejected by the populous. The novel includes themes of love, friendship, arrogance, and fear. It presents the epic battle between man and monster, showing that man is not always capable of controlling his creation.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Shelley Books

Leave a Reply