Matt Goldman is an American screenwriter and author. He has written on such hit television shows as Seinfeld, Ellen, The New Adventures of Old Christine, and Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency; and even has an Emmy award to his name. He made his novel writing debut in 2017 with Gone to Dust.

His book focuses on private detective Nils Shapiro and was a major hit from the get-go. The book has nominated for numerous awards including a Shamus Award, and a Nero Award. The book also spent time on the New York Times Best Sellers list.

Get notified when Matt Goldman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Nils Shapiro Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Carolina Moonset (2022)Description / Buy at
A Good Family (2023)Description / Buy at
Still Waters (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

If You Like Matt Goldman Books, You’ll Love…

Gone to Dust is the first time we meet Nils Shapiro. He’s working past a divorce while trying to keep warm in the unforgiving Minnesota winter when an Edina Police Detective calls in a favor. A suburban woman has been murdered and the situation feels unsolvable with the ultimate cover-up. The body is found covered in empty laundry bags and the detectives need Shapiro’s help if they hope to solve the crime. The FBI wants Nils off the case and he’s forced to go underground to see that justice is served.

Nils Shapiro returns in Broken Ice, the second book in the series. In this book, Nils is hired to find a missing teenager from a small hockey town called Warroad, Minnesota. Linnea went to a high school hockey tournament there and never came home. A friend of hers also went missing, but she was found – dead. The dead body makes him realize that his time is short and that he needs to find Linnea before it’s too late. Despite being a small town, it turns out that Warroad is filled with secrets that people are willing to kill to keep secret.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Matt Goldman Books

Leave a Reply