Maya Corrigan is an author with a love of detective stories and food that blends the two together in her Five-Ingredient mystery series. The series began with By Cook or by Crook in 2014.

Before her career as a writer, she taught university courses in writing, American literature, drama, and detective fiction. As a writer, she was awarded the 2013 Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Unpublished Mainstream Mystery / Suspense. In addition to her books, Corrigan has written many short stories under the name of Mary Ann Corrigan that appear in anthologies. When she is not writing or reading, she enjoys theater, travel, and cooking.

Get notified when Maya Corrigan releases a new book at

Publication Order of A Five-Ingredient Mystery Books

By Cook or by Crook (2014)Description / Buy at
Scam Chowder (2015)Description / Buy at
Final Fondue (2016)Description / Buy at
The Tell-Tale Tarte (2017)Description / Buy at
S'more Murders (2018)Description / Buy at
Crypt Suzette (2019)Description / Buy at
Gingerdead Man (2020)Description / Buy at
Bake Offed (2022)Description / Buy at
A Parfait Crime (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

We'd Rather Be Writing(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Maya Corrigan Books, You’ll Love…

In By Cook or by Crook, Val Deniston has seen her career as a cookbook publicist ended by a car accident. She has since decided to give up her life in New York City for a quiet one near Chesapeake Bay. She lives in a tourist town with her grandfather and loves her job working at the Cool Down Café at the local fitness club. When she is not working, she finds time to work on her long-planned cookbook. Then one of the fitness club’s patrons is found dead and Val decides to take up the case for herself.

Another great book in the series is Gingerdead Man. This book sees the holiday season in Bayport which ends up resembling Victorian London at this time. Val decides to host a private tea party for the Dickens of a Holiday Festival for the volunteers. One costumed reveler may have gotten his holidays mixed up though as his costume is downright terrifying. Then this year’s Santa is a bit sour and ends up turning up dead. Val and her grandfather now have another case on their hands.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Maya Corrigan Books

Leave a Reply