Molly MacRae is an author best known for writing the Highland Bookshop Mystery series of books. The series began in 2016 with the release of Plaid and Plagiarism.

She was the winner of the 2013 Lovey Award for Best Paranormal for Last Wool and Testament and the 2015 Lovey Award for Best Paranormal for Plagued by Quilt. Before she became an author, Molly spent twenty years in northeast Tennessee where she managed an independent bookstore. She also has worked as the curator of the history museum in Jonesborough, Tennessee’s oldest town. MacRae now makes her home in Champaign, Illinois where she lives with her family.

Get notified when Molly MacRae releases a new book at

Publication Order of A Haunted Shell Shop Mystery Books

Come Shell or High Water (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Haunted Yarn Shop Mystery Books

Last Wool and Testament (2012)Description / Buy at
Dyeing Wishes (2013)Description / Buy at
Spinning in Her Grave (2014)Description / Buy at
Plagued by Quilt (2014)Description / Buy at
Knot the Usual Suspects (2015)Description / Buy at
Crewel and Unusual (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Highland Bookshop Mystery Books

Plaid and Plagiarism (2016)Description / Buy at
Scones and Scoundrels (2018)Description / Buy at
Thistles and Thieves (2020)Description / Buy at
Heather and Homicide (2020)Description / Buy at
Argyles and Arsenic (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Margaret & Bitsy Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bake, Love, Write(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Molly MacRae Books, You’ll Love…

Last Wool and Testament is the first book in the Haunted Yarn Shop Mystery series. The book follows a group of needlework artists known as TGIF—Thank Goodness It’s Fiber who meet regularly at The Weaver’s Cat. The shop had been owned by Ivy McClellan, but is now the property of her granddaughter Kath who is returning to town to settle her grandmother’s affairs. One of those affairs turns out to be a murder that her grandmother was accused of. Kath gets help from the group as well as a gloomy ghost who is just as interested in solving the case as she is.

The Highland Bookshop Mystery series begins with Plaid and Plagiarism. This book sees a group of four women taking over the Yon Bonnie Books in the Scottish Highlands. Their moves hasn’t gone quite as smoothly as they expected as they all run into their fair share of problems. When a local reporter turns up dead, Janet and the other women will begin their investigation into who killed the young reporter. They find she had plenty of enemies and there are a lots of suspects.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Molly MacRae Books

Leave a Reply