Monica Hesse is an American author of YA science fiction and historical mystery novels and non-fiction books. She is also a feature writer for the Washington Post, wining the Society for Feature Journalism’s Narrative Storytelling award for her work for that publication. As a novelist, she has won an Edgar Award for her novel Girl in the Blue Coat. Monica lives in Maryland with her husband and dog.

Monica Hesse made her debut as a novelist in 2013 with the novel Stray. Below is a list of Monica Hesse’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Monica Hesse releases a new book at

Publication Order of Stray Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Girl in the Blue Coat (2016)Description / Buy at
The War Outside (2018)Description / Buy at
They Went Left (2020)Description / Buy at
The Brightwood Code (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

If You Like Monica Hesse Books, You’ll Love…

Monica Hesse Synopsis: Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse is a standalone novel. It is set in 1943 Amsterdam. Hanneke spends her days retrieving and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She thinks of what she’s doing, though illegal, as rebellion. On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman’s frantic plea to find a person – a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the actions of the Nazis, and cause her to take desperate action.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Monica Hesse Books

Leave a Reply