Nalo Hopkinson is a Jamaican author best known for writing speculative fiction. She is the author of Brown Girl in the Ring, Midnight Robber, The Salt Roads, and The New Moon’s Arms as well as numerous short stories.

Hopkinson was born in Kingston, Jamaica before he family moved to Guyana, Trinidad, and finally Canada. Writing was a big part of her upbringing as her mother was a librarian technician and her father was a poet and actor. She read great authors from early on in her formative years and she was heavily influenced by folk and fairy tales. In her own career, she would go on to become a Professor of Creative Writing at University of California Riverside.

Get notified when Nalo Hopkinson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Brown Girl in the Ring (1998)Description / Buy at
Midnight Robber (2000)Description / Buy at
The Salt Roads (2004)Description / Buy at
The New Moon's Arms (2007)Description / Buy at
Blackheart Man (2010)Description / Buy at
The Chaos (2012)Description / Buy at
Sister Mine (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Under Glass Under Glass (2001)Description / Buy at
Skin Folk (2001)Description / Buy at
Falling in Love with Hominids (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Report from Planet Midnight (With: Eleanor Arnason) (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Black Stars Books

The Visit (By: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie) (2021)Description / Buy at
These Alien Skies (By: C.T. Rwizi) (2021)Description / Buy at
We Travel the Spaceways (By: Victor LaValle) (2021)Description / Buy at
2043...(A Merman I Should Turn to Be) (By: Nisi Shawl) (2021)Description / Buy at
The Black Pages (By: Nnedi Okorafor) (2021)Description / Buy at
Clap Back (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Something to Hitch Meat To (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Outspoken Authors Books

The Human Front (By: Ken MacLeod) (2001)Description / Buy at
The Left Left Behind (By: Terry Bisson,Eleanor Arnason) (2009)Description / Buy at
Lucky Strike (By: Kim Stanley Robinson) (2009)Description / Buy at
The Underbelly (By: Gary Phillips,Eleanor Arnason) (2010)Description / Buy at
Mammoths of the Great Plains (By: Eleanor Arnason) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Wild Girls (By: Ursula K. Le Guin,Eleanor Arnason) (2011)Description / Buy at
Modem Times 2.0 (By: Michael Moorcock,Eleanor Arnason) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow (By: Cory Doctorow,Eleanor Arnason) (2011)Description / Buy at
Report from Planet Midnight (With: Eleanor Arnason) (2012)Description / Buy at
The Science of Herself (By: Karen Joy Fowler,Eleanor Arnason) (2013)Description / Buy at
Patty Hearst & The Twinkie Murders: A Tale of Two Trials (By: Eleanor Arnason,Paul Krassner) (2013)Description / Buy at
New Taboos (By: John Shirley) (2013)Description / Buy at
Raising Hell (By: Norman Spinrad,Eleanor Arnason) (2014)Description / Buy at
My Life, My Body (By: Marge Piercy) (2015)Description / Buy at
Gypsy (By: Carter Scholz,Eleanor Arnason) (2015)Description / Buy at
Miracles Ain't What They Used to Be (By: Joe R. Lansdale,Eleanor Arnason) (2016)Description / Buy at
Fire. (By: Elizabeth Hand,Eleanor Arnason) (2017)Description / Buy at
Totalitopia (By: John Crowley) (2017)Description / Buy at
The Atheist in the Attic (By: Samuel R. Delany,Eleanor Arnason) (2018)Description / Buy at
Thoreau's Microscope (By: Michael Blumlein,Eleanor Arnason) (2018)Description / Buy at
The Beatrix Gates (By: Rachel Pollack) (2019)Description / Buy at
A City Made of Words (By: Paul Park) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Year's Best Fantasy Books

Year's Best Fantasy (2001)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy 2 (2002)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy 3 (2003)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy 4 (2004)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy 5 (2005)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy 6 (2006)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy 7 (2007)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy 8 (2008)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy 9 (2009)Description / Buy at
Anthology series.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Black Swan, White Raven(1997)Description / Buy at
Silver Birch, Blood Moon(1999)Description / Buy at
A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora(2000)Description / Buy at
Whispers from the Cotton Tree Root(2000)Description / Buy at
Fourteenth Annual Collection(2001)Description / Buy at
Queer Fear II(2002)Description / Buy at
Mojo(2003)Description / Buy at
Reading the Bones(2004)Description / Buy at
Girls Who Bite Back(2004)Description / Buy at
So Long Been Dreaming(2004)Description / Buy at
Lust for Life: Tales of Sex & Love(2006)Description / Buy at
Apex Magazine - February 2011(2011)Description / Buy at
Walking the Clouds(2012)Description / Buy at
After: Nineteen Stories of Apocalypse and Dystopia(2012)Description / Buy at
The Time Traveler's Almanac(2013)Description / Buy at
Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales(2014)Description / Buy at
Lightspeed Magazine, December 2014(2014)Description / Buy at
Imaginarium 3(2015)Description / Buy at
Blood Sisters(2015)Description / Buy at
Sisters of the Revolution(2015)Description / Buy at
Warrior Women(2015)Description / Buy at
Imaginarium 4(2016)Description / Buy at
The WisCon Chronicles, Volume 11: Trials by Whiteness(2017)Description / Buy at
People of Color Take over Fantastic Stories of the Imagination(2017)Description / Buy at
Shoreline of Infinity 8½: Edinburgh International Book Festival Special Edition(2017)Description / Buy at
Particulates(2018)Description / Buy at
Edited By(2020)Description / Buy at
Inviting Interruptions: Wonder Tales in the Twenty-First Century(2021)Description / Buy at
Trouble the Waters: Tales from the Deep Blue(2022)Description / Buy at
Science Fiction: Voyage to the Edge of Imagination(2022)Description / Buy at
Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nalo Hopkinson Books, You’ll Love…

Brown Girl in the Ring was Hopkinson’s debut novel about a young bargaining with the gods to save her city. The story takes place in a city where the rich and privileged have fled the city and left it crumble. To survive, the people of the inner city have had to return to the old ways like farming and herb lore. However, the rich now find themselves in need of bodies and start to prey on the helpless still in the city. A young woman decides to do something about it and opens herself up to a world of ancient truths and eternal powers.

Nalo also wrote Sister Mine that explores the relationship between two sisters. The girls, Makeda and Abby, were born as conjoined twins which left them each unique. Abby was the one born with the magic while Makeda was merely mortal. This leaves Makeda on the outside looking in on the magical family. As Abby’s powers start to develop, Makeda makes the decision to go and live in the real world among the rest of the mortals. However, when their magical father goes missing Makeda will reunite with her sister to try and save him.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nalo Hopkinson Books

Leave a Reply