Nathan Hystad is a Canadian science fiction author best known for writing The Survivors series, The Resistance series, and the Baldwin’s Legacy series. Hystad writes in a variety of genres including horror, science fiction, and fantasy.

Hystad decided he wanted to be a writer from a young age and he has boxes full of stories that he wrote when he was six or seven years old. It wasn’t until he was fifteen that he discovered the writer Raymond Feist and his love for genre began.

Get notified when Nathan Hystad releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Abyss Books

Publication Order of Baldwin's Legacy Books

Publication Order of The Bridge Sequence Books

Publication Order of Final Days Books

(with Jasper T. Scott)

Publication Order of The Glass Books

The Other Place (2022)Description / Buy at
The Hidden Space (2022)Description / Buy at
The Secret Base (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Red Creek Books

Red Creek (2018)Description / Buy at
Return to Red Creek (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Resistance Books

Publication Order of Rise Books

(with Devon C. Ford)

Publication Order of River Saga Books

Publication Order of Space Race Books

Publication Order of The Survivors Books

Publication Order of The Token Books

Echoes From the Moon (2024)Description / Buy at
Shadows of the Earth (2024)Description / Buy at
Warmth of the Sun (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Travelers Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lights Over Cloud Lake (2019)Description / Buy at
The Manuscript (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

9Tales Told in the Dark #4(2015)Description / Buy at
Explorations: Through the Wormhole(2016)Description / Buy at
Crime & Mystery Short Stories(2016)Description / Buy at
Explorations: First Contact(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nathan Hystad Books, You’ll Love…

The first book in the Baldwin’s Legacy series is called Confrontation. The story begins when Thomas Baldwin has been named captain of the cruise ship Constantine. The ship is named for his grandfather and the pressure is on him to succeed. When the ship is sent on a diplomatic mission that goes wrong, Thomas is sprung into action. All signs are pointing to a former adversary being responsible, but the adversary is one that the Concord claims to have defeated five decades ago. The Concord wants him to walk away, but Baldwin isn’t so sure and will risk sending Concord into another galactic war.

The Event is the first book in the Survivors series. The story starts with Dean’s wife’s last words. She tells Dean that when the ships come to wear the necklace and then the ships arrived. The ships are strange alien vessels who have come to Earth and taken everyone away. Dean is seemingly the last man left on Earth and he’ll need to follow the clues left behind by his wife to learn the truth behind the ships and save humanity. Of course, not everything as it seems and Dean’s journey is going to be more difficult than he could imagine.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nathan Hystad Books

Leave a Reply