Nicci French (Photo Credit: Mark Read)
Nicci French is pen name of English authors Nicci Gerrard and Sean French, who write psychological thriller novels together. Gerrard and French were married in 1990. A trademark of their novels is the main character being a strong, yet vulnerable woman who is independent and stubborn. They write separately and then re-write eachother’s work. Both authors have also written solo novels.

French and Gerrard debuted as Nicci French with the novel The Memory Game, published in 1997. Sean French made his solo debut in as an author in 1992 with the non-fiction book Fatherhood: Men Writing About Fathering. His fiction debut was The Imaginary Monkey, which was published in 1993. Nicci Gerrard made her solo debut in 2003 with the novel Things We Knew Were True. Below is a list of Nicci French’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Nicci French releases a new book at

Publication Order of Frieda Klein Books

Blue Monday (2011)Description / Buy at
Tuesday's Gone (2012)Description / Buy at
Waiting for Wednesday (2013)Description / Buy at
Thursday's Children / Thursday's Child (2014)Description / Buy at
Friday on My Mind (2015)Description / Buy at
Dark Saturday / Saturday Requiem (2016)Description / Buy at
Sunday Silence / Sunday Morning Coming Down (2017)Description / Buy at
Day of the Dead (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Memory Game (1997)Description / Buy at
The Safe House (1998)Description / Buy at
Killing Me Softly (1999)Description / Buy at
Beneath the Skin (2000)Description / Buy at
The Red Room (2001)Description / Buy at
Land of the Living (2002)Description / Buy at
Secret Smile (2003)Description / Buy at
Catch Me When I Fall (2005)Description / Buy at
Losing You (2005)Description / Buy at
Until It's Over (2007)Description / Buy at
What to Do When Someone Dies (2008)Description / Buy at
Complicit / The Other Side of the Door (2009)Description / Buy at
The Lying Room (2019)Description / Buy at
House of Correction (2020)Description / Buy at
The Unheard (2021)Description / Buy at
The Favor / The Favour (2022)Description / Buy at
Has Anyone Seen Charlotte Salter? (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Note: Complicit was also published as The Other Side of the Door. Saturday Requiem was re-published as Dark Saturday.

If You Like Nicci French Books, You’ll Love…

Nicci French Synopses: In The Memory Game by Nicci French, a shocking discovery in the Martello family’s garden shatters their lives—the long-lost skeletal remains of their beloved daughter, Natalie, who mysteriously vanished a quarter-century ago. As the painful past resurfaces, questions abound. Could Jane, a close friend of Natalie and currently navigating a challenging divorce from Natalie’s brother, hold the key to unraveling the truth behind Natalie’s disappearance? As the Martellos grapple with haunting secrets and hidden connections, the search for answers becomes a journey through a maze of emotions, alliances, and long-buried memories.

The Safe House is a standalone title by Nicci French. In a moment of compassion, you welcome a victim into your home, unaware of the danger that lurks within your walls. Dr. Samantha Laschen, an expert in post-traumatic stress disorder, seeks refuge by the coast, hoping to find solace and seclusion with her young daughter. But the tranquility shatters when the police request her help in sheltering Fiona Mackenzie, a girl whose parents have been brutally slain. As Sam opens her doors to Fiona, she unwittingly ushers in a storm of unforeseen peril, placing both herself and her daughter in harm’s way that she could never have anticipated.

Killing Me Softly by Nicci French is a standalone novel. Alice Loudon seemingly has the perfect life: a loving boyfriend, a tight-knit group of friends, and a fulfilling career as a research scientist. However, her world takes an unexpected turn one fateful morning when a chance encounter with the enigmatic Adam Tallis leaves her captivated. Adam is a paragon of allure and adventure, a daring mountain climber celebrated as a hero. As their connection deepens, Alice finds herself swept away by an all-consuming passion she never imagined. She becomes willing to forsake everything and everyone in her pursuit of an intense relationship with Adam. But as her devotion grows, Alice becomes entangled in a web of unpredictability and fear, taking her to the brink of sanity and exposing her to new heights of emotion and trepidation.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nicci French Books

6 Responses to “Order of Nicci French Books”

  1. Pauline Blakemore: 2 years ago

    Just finished the Freda Klein novels. Loved loved loved them. Felt like I was part of her ‘family’ . Need more


  2. Pam: 7 years ago

    What is the next book after Saturday Requiem it can’t end now and I got to find out what happens next and died she end up with Karrlson?


    • Angela: 7 years ago

      I’m looking forward to the next one too….since Frieda lost Sandie she’s been a lost soul. Have you read the other books written by Nicci French? Have you read those written by Nicci Gerrard on her own? If you haven’t they’ll keep you going until the next Frieda book.I’ve read and enjoyed them all!


  3. Jessica: 9 years ago

    I devour their books…any response to the question about the “Friday” novel release date?


  4. Clrbrook: 9 years ago

    Any prediction of release time
    on the “Friday” novel?


  5. Brandon: 11 years ago

    If anyone is looking for a list of either Nicci or Sean’s solo novels, let me know and I’ll see about adding those.


Leave a Reply