Nicola Bayley (Photo Credit: Hayley Nia Thomas)
Nicola Bayley is an English author and illustrator of children’s books. In addition to all of the books she has written, she has also illustrated many critically acclaimed picture books, including Katje, The Windmill Cat by Gretchen Woelfle. She lives in London.

Nicola Bayley made her debut in 1975 with Nicola Bayley’s Book of Nursery Rhymes. Below is a list of Nicola Bayley’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Nicola Bayley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Copycats Books

Publication Order of Children's Books

Publication Order of Collections

Nicola Bayley's Book of Nursery Rhymes (1975)Description / Buy at
As I Was Going Up and Down and Other Nonsense Rhymes (1985)Description / Buy at
Bedtime & Moonshine: Lullabies and Nonsense (1987)Description / Buy at
The Necessary Cat (1998)Description / Buy at
The Curious Cat (2002)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nicola Bayley Books, You’ll Love…

  • Kevin Henkes
  • Cynthia Rylant
  • Mary Engelbreit

Nicola Bayley Synopses: Polar Bear Cat is a children’s book by Nicola Bayley. It is the first Copycats book. A cat imagines what it would be like to be a polar bear and live on the ice.

Crab Cat is book 3 in the Copycats series by Nicola Bayley. A cat imagines what it would be like to be a crab living by a pool at the seashore.

Nicola Bayley’s Book of Nursery Rhymes is a collection of 22 Mother Goose stories, highlighted by enchanting, jewel-like illustrations. For ages 3-7.

The Mouldy is a children’s book by Nicola Bayley. Into a beautiful garden set deep within an enchanted land where peace and beauty reign comes the evil Mouldy, a terrifying underground creature set on destroying the great garden.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nicola Bayley Books

Leave a Reply