Nova Jacobs is an author of mystery novels and non-fiction books. She earned her MFA from the USC School of Cinematic Arts and is a recipient of the Nicholl Fellowship in Screenwriting from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She lives in Los Angeles, California with her husband, Jeremy.

Nova Jacobs made her debut as an author in 2013 as a co-writer on Donnie Eichar’s non-fiction book Dead Mountain: The Untold True Story of the Dyatlov Pass Incident alongside J.C. Gabel. Her fiction debut was the 2018 novel The Last Equation of Isaac Severy. The novel was named a Best Mystery of 2018 by The Wall Street Journal and was nominated for a 2019 Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America. Below is a list of Nova Jacobs’ books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Nova Jacobs releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Equation of Isaac Severy (2018)Description / Buy at
The Stars Turned Inside Out (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Dead Mountain: The Untold True Story of the Dyatlov Pass Incident (2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nova Jacobs Books, You’ll Love…

Nova Jacobs Synopsis: In The Last Equation of Isaac Severy by Nova Jacobs, Seattle bookshop owner Hazel Severy receives a letter from her adoptive grandfather – mathematician Isaac Severy – days after he dies in a suspected suicide. In his puzzling letter, Isaac alludes to a secretive organization that is after his final bombshell equation, and he charges Hazel with safely delivering it to a trusted colleague. But first, she must find where the equation is hidden.

While in L.A. for Isaac’s funeral, Hazel realizes she’s not the only one searching for his life’s work, and that the equation’s implications have potentially disastrous consequences for the extended Severy family, a group of dysfunctional geniuses unmoored by the sudden death of their patriarch.

As agents of an enigmatic company shadow Isaac’s favorite son – a theoretical physicist – and a long-lost cousin mysteriously reappears in Los Angeles, the equation slips further from Hazel’s grasp. She must unravel a series of confounding clues hidden inside one of her favorite novels, drawing her ever closer to his mathematical treasure. But when her efforts fall short, she is forced to enlist the help of those with questionable motives.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nova Jacobs Books

Leave a Reply