Patricia Skalka is an American author best known for the Dave Cubiak Door County Mysteries series.

Skalka was awarded the Edna Ferber Fiction Award from the Council for Wisconsin Writers for Death in Cold Water. The Dave Cubiak Door County Mysteries series is set in Door County, Wisconsin where the author herself lives. However, she is originally a Chicago native. Prior to writing these books she was a Reader’s Digest Staff Writer and also wrote as a freelancer with human interest and medical articles. Patricia also did ghost writing, writing instruction, and book reviewing before making her way to fiction.

Get notified when Patricia Skalka releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dave Cubiak Books

Death Stalks Door County (2014)Description / Buy at
Death at Gills Rock (2015)Description / Buy at
Death in Cold Water (2016)Description / Buy at
Death Rides the Ferry (2018)Description / Buy at
Death by the Bay (2019)Description / Buy at
Death Washes Ashore (2021)Description / Buy at
Death Casts a Shadow (2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Patricia Skalka Books, You’ll Love…

Death Stalks Door County is the first book in the Dave Cubiak Door County Mystery series. Door County is usually a place for summer vacation, but six deaths have soured the mood. The deaths could be strange accidents or murders. Dave Cubiak is a former Chicago detective turned park ranger assumes the worst, but doesn’t want to get involved as he’s still filled with grief after the loss of his wife and child. However, Cubiak will find it in himself to move beyond himself and investigate. What he’ll soon uncover is a tangled web of greed, betrayal, bitter rivalries, and lost love. Cubiak isn’t sure who to trust as he looks to catch a killer.

Death at Gills Rock picks up after the events of the first book. His latest challenge is the death of three World War II veterans at an isolated fishing village. It looks to be the result of a faulty heater, but Cubiak wonders if there is something more. When one of the men’s widow’s receives a message that the dead “got what they deserved”, he realizes he is right and there is something to investigate here.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patricia Skalka Books

Leave a Reply