Paul Gallico is an American novelist best known as the author of the novel, The Poseidon Adventure. That book was adapted into a wildly successful film in 1972.

Gallico’s career began with an interview with the famous boxer Jack Dempsey. In the interview, he asked Dempsey to spar with him and was knocked out by the champ, and he wrote about the experience. He followed that up with more interactions with sports stars and become one of the highest paid sportswriters in the country for his efforts. In sports, he would write the book, Lou Gehrid: Pride of the Yankees which went on to become a very famous film.

Publication Order of Mrs. 'Arris Books

Mrs. 'Arris Goes to Paris (1958)Description / Buy at
Flowers For Mrs. Harris (1958)Description / Buy at
Mrs. 'Arris Goes to New York (1960)Description / Buy at
Mrs. 'Arris Goes To Parliament / Mrs. Harris MP (1965)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Harris Goes To Moscow (1974)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hiram Holliday Books

The Adventures of Hiram Holliday (1939)Description / Buy at
The Secret Front (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Snow Goose (1941)Description / Buy at
The Lonely (1944)Description / Buy at
Jennie / The Abandoned (1950)Description / Buy at
The Small Miracle (1951)Description / Buy at
Snowflake (1952)Description / Buy at
Trial by Terror (1952)Description / Buy at
The Foolish Immortals (1953)Description / Buy at
Love of Seven Dolls (1954)Description / Buy at
Ludmila (1954)Description / Buy at
Thomasina / The Three Lives of Thomasina (1957)Description / Buy at
Too Many Ghosts (1959)Description / Buy at
Scruffy (1962)Description / Buy at
Coronation (1962)Description / Buy at
The Day the Guinea-Pig Talked (1963)Description / Buy at
Love, Let Me Not Hunger (1963)Description / Buy at
The Adventures of Jean-Pierre (1964)Description / Buy at
The Hand of Mary Constable (1964)Description / Buy at
The Day Jean-Pierre Was Pignapped (1964)Description / Buy at
The Day Jean-Pierre Joined The Circus (1965)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Was Magic (1966)Description / Buy at
The Story of Silent Night‎ (1967)Description / Buy at
Manxmouse (1968)Description / Buy at
The Poseidon Adventure (1969)Description / Buy at
Matilda (1970)Description / Buy at
The Zoo Gang (1971)Description / Buy at
Miracle in the Wilderness (1975)Description / Buy at
The Boy Who Invented the Bubble Gun (1975)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Poseidon Adventure (1978)Description / Buy at
The House That Wouldn't Go Away (1979)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Honorable Cat (1972)Description / Buy at
The Snow Goose and Other Stories (1985)Description / Buy at
Love Is A Gimmick And Other Short Stories (1987)Description / Buy at
The Best of Paul Gallico (1988)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Hurricane Story (1959)Description / Buy at
The Silent Miaow (1964)Description / Buy at
Confessions of a story-teller (1966)Description / Buy at
Farewell to Sport (1970)Description / Buy at
Lou Gehrig: Pride of the Yankees (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of New York Review Children's Collection Books

Jim at the Corner (By: Eleanor Farjeon) (1934)Description / Buy at
Jennie / The Abandoned (1950)Description / Buy at
Thomasina The Cat Who Thought She was a God (1950)Description / Buy at
An Episode of Sparrows (By: Rumer Godden) (1955)Description / Buy at
Smith: The Story of a Pickpocket (By: Leon Garfield) (1967)Description / Buy at
Arthur (By: Rhoda Levine) (2015)Description / Buy at
The Milk of Dreams (By: Leonora Carrington) (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Wickedest Show on Earth(1985)Description / Buy at

If You Like Paul Gallico Books, You’ll Love…

The Poseidon Adventure is the story of a luxury ocean liner on its maiden voyage when it is capsized by a massive undersea earthquake. The accident is fatal for many of the passengers and now a handful of survivors are in the fight for their lives. With the ship turned upside down, they struggle to make it from the upper deck of the ship to the hull which is the only part of the ship still above water. The group must do all that they can to survive before the time runs out.

Gallico is also the author of The Snow Goose. The story tells of the friendship between an artist named Phillip, living with disabilities who is living a solitary life in an abandoned lighthouse, and a young girl named Fritha. There is a snow goose, symbolic to both of them, who is wounded by a gunshot and the two help to nurse it back to health. As the friendship grows, the bird’s health regenerates as well. Once healthy, the snow goose makes its returns to the lighthouse during migration for several years.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Paul Gallico Books

Leave a Reply