Paula McLain is an American best known for writing the bestselling novels, The Paris Wife, Circling the Sun, Love and Ruin, and When the Stars Go Dark.

McClain was born in Fresno, California. She had a tough upbringing as her and her sister were abandoned by their parents and became wards of the state, living in many foster homes. She eventually aged out of the system and supported herself through a variety of jobs before discovering she could write. She’d go on to attend the University of Michigan where she earned her MFA in poetry in 1996. She released her first novel, A Ticket to Ride, in 2008.

Get notified when Paula McLain releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Ticket to Ride (2008)Description / Buy at
The Paris Wife (2011)Description / Buy at
Circling the Sun (2015)Description / Buy at
Love and Ruin (2018)Description / Buy at
When the Stars Go Dark (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Mind of Her Own (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Less of Her (1999)Description / Buy at
Stumble, Gorgeous (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Point In Time Collection Books

Alison's Conviction (By: Thomas Keneally) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ash Wednesday (2022)Description / Buy at
We Are Bone and Earth (By: Esi Edugyan) (2022)Description / Buy at
Naomi's Gift (By: Martha Hall Kelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
A Wild Rose (By: Fiona Davis) (2022)Description / Buy at
Landing (By: Olivia Hawker) (2022)Description / Buy at
Mother Swamp (By: Jesmyn Ward) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Paris All Your Own(2017)Description / Buy at
Stories from Suffragette City(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Paula McLain Books, You’ll Love…

Love and Ruin was named as one of the best books of the year by numerous publications after its release. The story takes place in 1937 when Martha Gellhorn travels alone to Madrid to report o n the Spanish Civil War. She is trying to prove herself in this field dominated by men while simultaneously finds herself falling for Ernest Hemingway. The two see their relationship and careers ignite against the backdrop of Madrid and Cuba. However, when Ernest publishes his biggest success, the two are no longer equals, and Martha realizes she must forget her own path.

McClain is also the author of When the Stars Go Dark. This thriller follows Anna, a missing persons detective who knows far too much about the dark side of humanity. After seeing some tragedy in her own life, Anna heads off to live in Northern California to grieve. However, life has other plans as a local teenager has gone missing and the town needs her help. Now, Anna has become driven to save the missing girl which means finding the courage to get out of her own way and letting others in.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Paula McLain Books

Leave a Reply