Peter Corris
Peter Corris is an Australian author of crime fiction, historical fiction and non-fiction. He is best known for his Cliff Hardy series, but also writes series featuring his characters Richard Browning, Ray Crawley and Luke Dunlop. He is also a historian and a journalist. Born in Stawell, Victoria and raised in Melbourne, he attended secondary school at Melbourne High School. He then attended the University of Melbourne, earned his M.A. in History at Monash University and his PhD in History from Australian National University. Corris enjoys reading, writing, golf, weight training and film. He is married to fellow writer Jean Bedford (who he has three daughters with) and lives in Sydney, Australia.

Peter Corris became a published author in 1973 with the non-fiction book Passage, Port and Plantation: A History of Solomon Islands Labour Migration, 1870-1914. His debut novel was the Cliff Hardy novel The Dying Trade. Below is a list of Peter Corris’ books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Cliff Hardy Books

The Dying Trade (1980)Description / Buy at
White Meat (1981)Description / Buy at
The Marvellous Boy (1982)Description / Buy at
Make Me Rich (1985)Description / Buy at
The Empty Beach (1985)Description / Buy at
The Greenwich Apartments (1986)Description / Buy at
Deal Me Out (1986)Description / Buy at
The January Zone (1987)Description / Buy at
O'Fear (1990)Description / Buy at
Wet Graves (1991)Description / Buy at
Aftershock (1991)Description / Buy at
Beware of the Dog (1992)Description / Buy at
Matrimonial Causes (1993)Description / Buy at
Casino (1994)Description / Buy at
The Reward (1997)Description / Buy at
Washington Club (1997)Description / Buy at
The Black Prince (1998)Description / Buy at
Other Side of Sorrow (1999)Description / Buy at
Lugarno (2001)Description / Buy at
Salt and Blood (2002)Description / Buy at
Master's Mates (2003)Description / Buy at
The Coast Road (2004)Description / Buy at
Saving Billie (2005)Description / Buy at
The Undertow (2006)Description / Buy at
Appeal Denied (2007)Description / Buy at
Open File (2008)Description / Buy at
Deep Water (2009)Description / Buy at
Torn Apart (2010)Description / Buy at
Follow The Money (2011)Description / Buy at
Comeback (2012)Description / Buy at
The Dunbar Case (2013)Description / Buy at
Silent Kill (2014)Description / Buy at
Gun Control (2015)Description / Buy at
That Empty Feeling (2015)Description / Buy at
Win, Lose or Draw (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cliff Hardy Collections

Heroin Annie and Other Cliff Hardy Stories (1984)Description / Buy at
Man in the Shadows (1988)Description / Buy at
The Big Drop (1988)Description / Buy at
Burn, and Other Stories (1993)Description / Buy at
Taking Care Of Business (2004)Description / Buy at
Forget Me If You Can (2014)Description / Buy at
The Big Score: Cliff Hardy Cases (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ray Crawley Books

Pokerface (1985)Description / Buy at
The Baltic Business (1988)Description / Buy at
The Kimberly Killing (1990)Description / Buy at
The Cargo Club (1990)Description / Buy at
The Azanian Action (1991)Description / Buy at
The Japanese Job (1992)Description / Buy at
The Time Trap (1993)Description / Buy at
The Vietnam Volunteer (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Richard Browning Books

Beverly Hills Browning (1987)Description / Buy at
Browning Takes Off (1989)Description / Buy at
Box Office Browning (1989)Description / Buy at
Browning In Buckskin (1991)Description / Buy at
Browning P.I. (1992)Description / Buy at
Browning Battles On (1993)Description / Buy at
Browning Sahib (1994)Description / Buy at
Browning Without a Cause (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Luke Dunlop Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Winning Side (1984)Description / Buy at
The Gulliver Fortune (1989)Description / Buy at
Naismith's Dominion (1990)Description / Buy at
Blood Brothers (2007)Description / Buy at
The Colonial Queen (2011)Description / Buy at
The Brothers Craft (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Passage, Port and Plantation: A History of Solomon Islands Labour Migration, 1870-1914 (1973)Description / Buy at
Lightning Meets the West Wind: The Malaita Massacre (1980)Description / Buy at
The National Times Australian Book of Quizzes (With: Jean Bedford) (1983)Description / Buy at
Fred Hollows: An Autobiography (With: Fred Hollows) (1992)Description / Buy at
Ray Barrett: An Autobiography (With: Ray Barrett) (1995)Description / Buy at
A Round of Golf: 18 Holes with Peter Corris (1998)Description / Buy at
The Journal of Fletcher Christian: Together with the History of Henry Corkill (2005)Description / Buy at
Mad Dog: William Cyril Moxley and the Moorebank Killings (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Crosstown Traffic(1993)Description / Buy at
Hard Labour(2012)Description / Buy at
Crime Scenes Stories(2016)Description / Buy at

Notes: National Times Australian Book of Quizzes was written with Jean Bedford. Fred Hollows: An Autobiography was written with Fred Hollows. Ray Barrett: An Autobiography was written with Ray Barrett.

If You Like Peter Corris Books, You’ll Love…

Peter Corris Synopsis: In The Winning Side by Peter Corris, Charlie Thomas was born in a humpy camp in the 1920s. He was taught how to fight at a young age. He fights in the backstreets of Queensland during the Depression, and in the Middle East and the Pacific in the Second World War. Now a decorated veteran, Charlie fights on in the cities and the country against racial prejudice, authority and his weaknesses. He has to fight. White Australia tries to keep him on the losing side in the boxing tents, pubs and gaols. Charlie Thomas fights for things like education, justice, hope and love – to make his side the winning side.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter Corris Books

Leave a Reply