Peter O’Donnell (1920-2010) was an English author of action-adventure, spy and mystery novels and comic strips. He was best known for creating the Modesty Blaise character, but also wrote gothic historical romance novels under the pen name of Madeleine Brent. He retired in 2001 and passed away in 2010. His wish was that no one write the Modesty Blaise character after his passing.

Peter O’Donnell became a published novelist in 1965 with the novel Modesty Blaise in 1965. His final published work was Cobra Trap, a short story collection published in 1996. Below is a list of Peter O’Donnell’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Modesty Blaise Books

Modesty Blaise (1965)Description / Buy at
Sabre-Tooth (1966)Description / Buy at
I, Lucifer (1967)Description / Buy at
A Taste for Death (1969)Description / Buy at
The Impossible Virgin (1971)Description / Buy at
The Silver Mistress (1973)Description / Buy at
Last Day in Limbo (1977)Description / Buy at
Dragon's Claw (1978)Description / Buy at
The Xanadu Talisman (1981)Description / Buy at
The Night of Morningstar (1982)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Handle (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Modesty Blaise Collections

Publication Order of Modesty Blaise Comic Strip Books

The Black Pearl (1978)Description / Buy at
The Hell-Makers (1986)Description / Buy at
The Gabriel Set-Up (1986)Description / Buy at
Death of a Jester (1987)Description / Buy at
The Warlords of Phoenix (1987)Description / Buy at
The Puppet Master (1987)Description / Buy at
Uncle Happy (1990)Description / Buy at
The Iron God (1996)Description / Buy at
Live Bait (2002)Description / Buy at
Lady in the Dark (2003)Description / Buy at
Mister Sun (2004)Description / Buy at
Top Traitor (2004)Description / Buy at
Bad Suki (2005)Description / Buy at
The Green-Eyed Monster (2005)Description / Buy at
The Gallows Bird (2006)Description / Buy at
Cry Wolf (2006)Description / Buy at
The Inca Trail (2007)Description / Buy at
Death Trap (2007)Description / Buy at
Yellowstone Booty (2008)Description / Buy at
Green Cobra (2008)Description / Buy at
The Lady Killers (2009)Description / Buy at
The Scarlet Maiden (2009)Description / Buy at
Death in Slow Motion (2009)Description / Buy at
Sweet Caroline (2010)Description / Buy at
The Double Agent (2011)Description / Buy at
Million Dollar Game (2011)Description / Buy at
The Girl in the Iron Mask (2013)Description / Buy at
The Young Mistress (2013)Description / Buy at
The Grim Joker (2014)Description / Buy at
The Killing Distance (2015)Description / Buy at
Ripper Jax (2015)Description / Buy at
The Murder Frame (2016)Description / Buy at
The Children of Lucifer (2017)Description / Buy at
The Killing Game (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Modesty Blaise Non-Fiction Books

The Art of Modesty Blaise (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tregaron's Daughter (As:Madeleine Brent) (1971)Description / Buy at
Moonraker's Bride (As:Madeleine Brent) (1973)Description / Buy at
Stranger at Wildings / Kirkby's Changeling (As:Madeleine Brent) (1975)Description / Buy at
Merlin's Keep (As:Madeleine Brent) (1977)Description / Buy at
The Capricorn Stone (As:Madeleine Brent) (1979)Description / Buy at
The Long Masquerade (As:Madeleine Brent) (1981)Description / Buy at
A Heritage of Shadows (As: Madeleine Brent) (1983)Description / Buy at
Stormswift (As:Madeleine Brent) (1984)Description / Buy at
Golden Urchin (As:Madeleine Brent) (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Gothic Treasure Trove(1987)Description / Buy at
Woman: An Anthology(2014)Description / Buy at

Note: All of Peter O’Donnell’s standalone novels were historical romances written under the pen name of Madeleine Brent.

If You Like Peter O’Donnell Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter O’Donnell Books

One Response to “Order of Peter O’Donnell Books”

  1. April: 11 years ago

    I LOVE Madeleine Brent books and more should be published!


Leave a Reply