Peter Watt
Peter Watt is an Australian author of historical and contemporary fiction. He writes the Frontier series. Peter has spent time as a soldier, articled clerk to a solicitor, prawn trawler deckhand, builder’s labourer, pipe layer, real estate salesman, private investigator, police sergeant and adviser to the Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary. He has lived and worked with Aborigines, Islanders, Vietnamese and Papua New Guineans. Aside from English, he is also fluent in Vietnamese and Pidgin. When he’s not writing, Peter enjoys spending time with friends, fishing, scuba diving, military history, crosswords and teaching. He resides in Maclean, New South Wales, where he spends six months of the year as a volunteer bush firefighter.

Peter Watt made his debut as a published author in 1999 with the novel Cry of the Curlew. Below is a list of Peter Watt’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Peter Watt releases a new book at

Publication Order of Frontier Books

Cry of the Curlew (2000)Description / Buy at
Shadow of the Osprey (2000)Description / Buy at
Flight of the Eagle (2002)Description / Buy at
To Chase The Storm (2004)Description / Buy at
To Touch The Clouds (2009)Description / Buy at
To Ride The Wind (2010)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Horizon (2012)Description / Buy at
War Clouds Gather (2013)Description / Buy at
And Fire Falls (2014)Description / Buy at
Beneath a Rising Sun (2015)Description / Buy at
While the Moon Burns (2016)Description / Buy at
From the Stars Above (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Papua Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Colonial Books

The Queen's Colonial (2019)Description / Buy at
The Queen's Tiger (2019)Description / Buy at
The Queen's Captain (2020)Description / Buy at
The Colonial's Son (2021)Description / Buy at
Call of Empire (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Silent Frontier (2006)Description / Buy at
The Stone Dragon (2008)Description / Buy at
The Frozen Circle (2008)Description / Buy at

If You Like Peter Watt Books, You’ll Love…

Peter Watt Synopsis: The Stone Dragon by Peter Watt is set at the turn of the 20th century – an era of tumultuous change. What is it that draws Tung Chi, a former Shaolin priest in the service of the Chinese emperor, to the Australian colony of Queensland? This mystery ensnares local businessman John Wong, who fears for his daughter, living across the world in Peking at a time when a revolutionary force known as the Boxers is on the rise. Together Tung and John, with his son, Andrew, head out on a dangerous journey that will lead them into a conflict in which everything is at stake, but allegiances are blurred. The sleeping dragon of China is awakening…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter Watt Books

2 Responses to “Order of Peter Watt Books”

  1. Mon: 2 years ago

    this list is incomplete with the latest editions not entered.


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      It looks complete to me – perhaps you could be helpful and let me know what is missing?


Leave a Reply