Philip Roth was a Pulitzer Prize winning author best known for his Nathan Zuckerman series of books. Roth wrote American Pastoral in 1997 and won the Pulitzer Prize. He was given the inaugural Franz Kafka Prize, international literary award, in 2001. He was also the recipient of the National Medal of Arts from the White House.

Roth was also the author of The Plot Against America, an alternate history book that was made into a television series by HBO. Philip was born in Newark, New Jersey and that town would become a frequent location of his fiction. He was born in 1933 and grew up in Jersey. He would attend Rutgers University and Bucknell University where he earned a B.A. in English. He would then go to the University of Chicago where he earned an M.A. in English literature. Roth passed away in 2018.

Publication Order of American Trilogy Books

American Pastoral (1997)Description / Buy at
I Married a Communist (1998)Description / Buy at
The Human Stain (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of David Kepesh Books

The Breast (1972)Description / Buy at
The Professor of Desire (1977)Description / Buy at
The Dying Animal (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nathan Zuckerman Books

My Life as a Man (1974)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Writer (1979)Description / Buy at
Zuckerman Unbound (1981)Description / Buy at
The Anatomy Lesson (1983)Description / Buy at
The Prague Orgy (1985)Description / Buy at
Exit Ghost (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Letting Go (1961)Description / Buy at
When She Was Good (1966)Description / Buy at
Portnoy's Complaint (1969)Description / Buy at
Our Gang (1971)Description / Buy at
The Great American Novel (1973)Description / Buy at
The Counterlife (1986)Description / Buy at
Deception (1990)Description / Buy at
Patrimony (1991)Description / Buy at
Operation Shylock (1993)Description / Buy at
Sabbath's Theater (1995)Description / Buy at
His Mistress's Voice (1995)Description / Buy at
The Plot Against America (2004)Description / Buy at
Everyman (2006)Description / Buy at
Indignation (2008)Description / Buy at
The Humbling (2009)Description / Buy at
Nemesis (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Conversion of the Jews (1958)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Goodbye, Columbus and Five Short Stories (1959)Description / Buy at
A Philip Roth Reader (1980)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Reading Myself and Others (1975)Description / Buy at
American West's Acid Rain Test (1985)Description / Buy at
The Facts (1988)Description / Buy at
Shop Talk (2001)Description / Buy at
A Writer at Work (2011)Description / Buy at
Notes For My Biographer (2012)Description / Buy at
Why Write? (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

New American Review 10(1970)Description / Buy at
First Fiction: An Anthology of the First Published Stories by Famous Writers(1994)Description / Buy at
Tales for Travellers: Short Stories: Collection 1(1996)Description / Buy at
The Good Parts(2000)Description / Buy at
Wonderful Town(2000)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories of the Century(2000)Description / Buy at
Baseball: a Literary Anthology(2002)Description / Buy at
Fathers: A Literary Anthology(2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Philip Roth Books, You’ll Love…

The Plot Against America is Roth’s alternate history that tells of a time where Franklin D. Roosevelt lost the 1940 presidential election to Charles A. Lindbergh. The new president does not lead America into World War II like Roosevelt, but instead negotiates a cordial “understanding” with Adolf Hitler, while the new government embarks on a program of folksy anti-Semitism. The story follows a boy growing up in Newark who finds that his life and those of his families are being ruined by the changing political landscape.

American Pastoral is the first book in Roth’s American trilogy. The story tells of an American named Seymour “Swede” Levov and his incredible rise and fall. He is a hard worker and the inheritor of his father’s Newark glove factory, but he finds his life turned upside down in the turbulent 1960s. Swede is a private, well-intentioned man who gets swept up in history.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Philip Roth Books

Leave a Reply