Richard Adams (1920-2016) was an English author of fantasy and literary fiction novels and non-fiction books. Born in Berkshire, he attended Bradfield College. He later would study Modern History at Worcester College, Oxford. Upon the outbreak of World War II, he joined the British Army and served until 1946. He received a class B discharge and returned to Worcester to finish his studies. He took earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1948 and Master of Arts in 1953. Richard first started telling the story of Watership Down to his two daughters, Juliet and Rosamund, and they insisted he get it published. It took two years to write and was rejected by thirteen publishers before finally getting published and receiving record-setting success.

Richard Adams made his debut as a published novelist in 1972 with the novel Watership Down. Below is a list of Richard Adams’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Watership Down Books

Watership Down (1972)Description / Buy at
Tales from Watership Down (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Beklan Empire Books

Publication Order of RichardAdams Standalone Novels

The Tyger Voyage (1976)Description / Buy at
The Plague Dogs (1977)Description / Buy at
The Girl in a Swing (1980)Description / Buy at
The Legend of Te Tuna (1982)Description / Buy at
Traveller (1988)Description / Buy at
The Outlandish Knight (1999)Description / Buy at
Daniel (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of RichardAdams Short Story Collections

The Iron Wolf and Other Stories (1980)Description / Buy at
The Unbroken Web: Stories and Fables (1980)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Watership Down: The Graphic Novel (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Ship's Cat (1977)Description / Buy at
The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of RichardAdams Non-Fiction Books

Nature Through the Seasons (1975)Description / Buy at
Nature Day and Night (1978)Description / Buy at
Voyage Through the Antarctic (With: R.M. Lockley) (1982)Description / Buy at
A Nature Diary (1985)Description / Buy at
The Day Gone By: An Autobiography (1990)Description / Buy at
Antarctica (1990)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Grimm's Fairy Tales(1909)Description / Buy at
Sinister and Supernatural Stories / Sinister and Unnatural Stories(1978)Description / Buy at
Richard Adams's Favorite Animal Stories(1981)Description / Buy at
Occasional Poets(1986)Description / Buy at

If You Like Richard Adams Books, You’ll Love…

Richard Adams Synopses: Watership Down is a standalone title by Richard Adams. Set in the Downs of England, a once peaceful rural area, this stirring tale of adventure, courage and survival follows a band of very special creatures on their flight from the intrusion of man and the certain destruction of their home. Led by a stouthearted pair of brothers, they journey forth from their native Sandleford Warren through the harrowing trials posed by predators and adversaries, to a mysterious promised land and a more perfect society.

Shardik is the first book in the Beklan Empire series by Richard Adams. Focusing on the long-awaited reincarnation of a giant bear among the half-barbaric Orelgan people, Shardik’s appearance sets off a violent chain of events as faith in his divinity sweeps the land. Closest to the bear is the hunter Kelderek, a naturally pious, ignorant, well-meaning man who becomes – in his dedication to Shardik – a prophet, victorious soldier, corrupt priest-king and ruler of an empire.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Richard Adams Books

Leave a Reply