Richard Christian Matheson is an American author of horror novels and short stories, as well as screenplays. He is the son of novelist Richard Matheson. As an author, he is best known for the novel Created By and the novella The Ritual of Illusion, while much of his work has been on television and movies, including working on The A-Team, Knight Rider, Tales from the Crypt, The Shining (TV series), Three’s Company, The Incredible Hulk and much more. He has also written several feature films.

Richard Christian Matheson made his debut as a novelist in 1993 with Created By. Prior to that, he has had short stories published in anthologies going as far back as 1977. Below is a list of Richard Christian Matheson’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Richard Christian Matheson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Holiday (1988)Description / Buy at
Pride (With: Richard Matheson) (2002)Description / Buy at
The Ritual of Illusion (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Scars and Other Distinguishing Marks (1987)Description / Buy at
Scars and Other Distinguishing Marks (1987)Description / Buy at
Dystopia (2000)Description / Buy at
Zoopraxis (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Whispers(1977)Description / Buy at
Shadows 2(1979)Description / Buy at
Dark Forces: New Stories of Suspense and Supernatural Horror(1980)Description / Buy at
Death(1982)Description / Buy at
Hot Blood Tales of Erotic Horror(1989)Description / Buy at
Razored Saddles(1989)Description / Buy at
Splatter-Punks: The Definitive Anthology(1990)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror Fourth Annual Collection(1991)Description / Buy at
Fourth Annual Collection(1991)Description / Buy at
The Bradbury Chronicles(1991)Description / Buy at
The Little Book of Horrors: Tiny Tales of Terror(1992)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Vampires(1992)Description / Buy at
Best New Horror 6(1995)Description / Buy at
Dark Terrors(1995)Description / Buy at
Dark of the Night(1997)Description / Buy at
Robert Bloch's Psychos(1997)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 8(1997)Description / Buy at
Millenium(1997)Description / Buy at
Dark Terrors 4(1998)Description / Buy at
Dark Terrors 5(2000)Description / Buy at
Dark Masques(2001)Description / Buy at
Dark Terrors 6(2002)Description / Buy at
Shrouded by Darkness: Tales of Terror(2006)Description / Buy at
Best New Horror 18(2007)Description / Buy at
Dark Delicacies: Fear(2007)Description / Buy at
Hellbound Hearts(2009)Description / Buy at
Werewolves and Shape Shifters: Encounters with the Beasts Within(2010)Description / Buy at
Visitants(2010)Description / Buy at
A Book of Horrors(2011)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Three(2011)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Coattails(2012)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Body Horror(2012)Description / Buy at
Mammoth Books presents That Haunted Feeling(2012)Description / Buy at
Four For Fantasy(2013)Description / Buy at
Flotsam Fantastique: The Souvenir Book of World Fantasy Convention 2013(2013)Description / Buy at
Hell Comes To Hollywood, Volume II(2014)Description / Buy at
Darker Terrors 7(2016)Description / Buy at
Cemetery Riots(2016)Description / Buy at
Corruption at the Crossroad(2017)Description / Buy at
Best New Horror 28(2018)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Halloween Stories(2018)Description / Buy at
Freedom of Screech(2019)Description / Buy at
Body Shocks(2021)Description / Buy at
Best New Horror #31(2021)Description / Buy at
Horrible Little Stories: Horror Fiction They Don’t Want You To Read(2023)Description / Buy at
Little Deaths(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Richard Christian Matheson Books, You’ll Love…

Richard Christian Matheson Synopses: Created By is a standalone novel by Richard Christian Matheson. Alan White is a hot young writer-producer looking for the smash hit that will make his career. He thinks he’s found it with a new TV show called The Mercenary. The network has never seen anything like it. It’s full of sex, violence and nudity, and the ratings are through the roof. Alan couldn’t be happier. Until the morning’s headlines start to read like a rerun of the previous night’s episode. Until The Mercenary begins to take on a terrifying life of its own. Until it becomes chillingly clear that Alan must cancel his creation – before it cancels him.

The Ritual of Illusion is a novella by Richard Christian Matheson. Academy Award-winning actress, Sephanie Vamore, meteors to iconic fame … but like cinema itself, nothing is as it appears. The fifty witnesses to her mythic ascent and bizarre fate are film royalty… many based on Hollywood glitterati; directors, stars, agents, studio heads, screenwriters, lovers, producers. Her story is told in the style of Rashomon with dialogue alone – each hypnotic character adding poignant or lurid details to the shocking truth of what she really is.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Richard Christian Matheson Books

Leave a Reply