Richard Matheson
Richard Matheson (1926-2013) was an American author of horror, science fiction and fantasy novels, stories and screenplays. Many of his novels have been adapted into films, including I Am Legend (four times over), The Shrinking Man, Hell House, What Dreams May Come, Somewhere in Time, A Stir of Echoes and Button, Button. He also wrote some of the most famous episodes of The Twilight Zone, including “Nightmare at 20,000 Feet.”

Richard Matheson became a published author in 1950 with a short story entitled Born of Man and Woman in 1950. His first novel was a suspense novel, entitled Fury on Sunday, which was published in 1953. Below is a list of Richard Matheson’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Someone is Bleeding (1953)Description / Buy at
Fury on Sunday (1953)Description / Buy at
Woman / Third from the Sun / Born of Man (1954)Description / Buy at
I Am Legend / The Omega Man (1954)Description / Buy at
The Incredible Shrinking Man / The Shrinking Man (1956)Description / Buy at
A Stir of Echoes (1958)Description / Buy at
Ride the Nightmare (1959)Description / Buy at
The Beardless Warriors of World War II (1960)Description / Buy at
Comedy of Terrors (1964)Description / Buy at
Hell House (1971)Description / Buy at
The Night Stalker (1973)Description / Buy at
The Night Strangler (1974)Description / Buy at
Somewhere In Time / Bid Time Return (1975)Description / Buy at
What Dreams May Come (1978)Description / Buy at
Earthbound (1982)Description / Buy at
Journal of the Gun Years (1991)Description / Buy at
The Gun Fight (1993)Description / Buy at
7 Steps to Midnight (1993)Description / Buy at
Shadow on the Sun (1994)Description / Buy at
Now You See It... (1995)Description / Buy at
The Memoirs of Wild Bill Hickok (1996)Description / Buy at
Passion Play (2000)Description / Buy at
Hunger and Thirst (2000)Description / Buy at
Camp Pleasant (2001)Description / Buy at
Hunted Past Reason (2002)Description / Buy at
Abu and the 7 Marvels (With: William Stout) (2002)Description / Buy at
Come Fygures, Come Shadowes (2003)Description / Buy at
The Link (2006)Description / Buy at
Other Kingdoms (2011)Description / Buy at
Generations (2012)Description / Buy at
Leave Yesterday Alone (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Slaughter House (1953)Description / Buy at
Pride (With: Richard Christian Matheson) (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Third from the Sun: Tales of Science Fiction and Fantasy (1954)Description / Buy at
The Shores of Space (1957)Description / Buy at
Nightmare at 20,000 Feet (1961)Description / Buy at
Shock!: Thirteen Tales to Thrill and Terrify (1961)Description / Buy at
Shock II: Thirteen Tales to Haunt the Imagination (1964)Description / Buy at
Shock III (1966)Description / Buy at
Shock Waves (1970)Description / Buy at
Duel (1971)Description / Buy at
Collected Stories, Vol. 1 (1989)Description / Buy at
By the Gun (1994)Description / Buy at
The Twilight Zone Scripts (1998)Description / Buy at
Kolchak Scripts (2003)Description / Buy at
Darker Places (2004)Description / Buy at
Collected Stories, Vol. 2 (2005)Description / Buy at
Collected Stories, Vol. 3 (2005)Description / Buy at
Unrealized Dreams (2005)Description / Buy at
Bloodlines (2006)Description / Buy at
Button, Button: Uncanny Stories (2007)Description / Buy at
Visions of Death: Richard Matheson's Edgar Allan Poe Scripts, Vol. 1 (2007)Description / Buy at
The Box (2008)Description / Buy at
Visions Deferred (2009)Description / Buy at
Richard Matheson Uncollected: Backteria and Other Improbable Tales (2011)Description / Buy at
Steel and Other Stories (2011)Description / Buy at
Road Rage (With: Stephen King,Joe Hill,Chris Ryall) (2012)Description / Buy at
Off Beat: Uncollected Stories (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Completely Doomed (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Path (1993)Description / Buy at
Mediums Rare (2000)Description / Buy at
A Primer of Reality (2002)Description / Buy at
The Richard Matheson Companion (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Star Science Fiction Books

(with Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Ray Bradbury, Frederik Pohl, Jack Vance, Philip K. Dick, Lester del Rey, Jack Williamson)

Star Science Fiction Stories No. 2 (By: Frederik Pohl) (1953)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Star Science Fiction Stories 3(1955)Description / Buy at
Best of Science Fiction: No. 10(1964)Description / Buy at
If This Goes On(1965)Description / Buy at
Star Science Fiction Stories No. 5(1972)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Generation(1973)Description / Buy at
Great Black Magic Stories(1974)Description / Buy at
Rod Serling's Other Worlds(1978)Description / Buy at
65 Great Spine Chillers(1982)Description / Buy at
Laughing Space: An Anthology of Science Fiction Humor(1982)Description / Buy at
Great Tales of Fantasy and Science Fiction(1985)Description / Buy at
Rod Serling's Night Gallery Reader(1987)Description / Buy at
Duel — Horror Stories of the Road(1987)Description / Buy at
The Monster Book of Monsters(1988)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror Stories from the Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction(1988)Description / Buy at
Hot Blood Tales of Erotic Horror(1989)Description / Buy at
Second Annual Collection(1989)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Fantasy 2 / Demons and Dreams(1990)Description / Buy at
Robert Bloch: Appreciations of the Master(1995)Description / Buy at
American Pulp(1997)Description / Buy at
The Young Oxford Book of Nasty Endings(1998)Description / Buy at
Taps and Sighs(2000)Description / Buy at
Stranger: Dark Tales of Eerie Encounters(2002)Description / Buy at
Kiss the Whip(2005)Description / Buy at
Masques V(2006)Description / Buy at
The Best of Cemetery Dance II(2008)Description / Buy at
The Dead That Walk(2009)Description / Buy at
Haunts: Reliquaries of the Dead(2011)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Body Horror(2012)Description / Buy at
The Time Traveler's Almanac(2013)Description / Buy at
Flight or Fright(2018)Description / Buy at

Notes: I Am Legend was also published as The Omega Man. The Shrinking Man was also published as Incredible Shrinking Man. Somewhere in Time was originally published under the title of Bid Time Return. Third from the Sun is also known as Born of Man and Woman.

Earthbound was written as Logan Swanson. Comedy of Terror is a novelization by Elsie Lee, based on a screenplay by Richard Matheson. The Night Stalker is a novelization by Jeff Rice, based on a screenplay by Matheson. Pride was co-authored by Richard Christian Matheson. Kiss the Whip also contains contributions by Robert Bloch, Henry Clement, Jean-Paul Denard and Jeremy Reed. Road Rage also contains contributions by Joe Hill and Stephen King. Completely Doomed also has stories by Robert Bloch, David J. Schow and F. Paul Wilson.

If You Like Richard Matheson Books, You’ll Love…

Richard Matheson Synopsis: In Ride the Nightmare by Richard Matheson, Chris and Helen were living the good life until Helen finds out about something in Chris’ past. Overnight, their relationship turns into a world of fear and brutality that may cause them to lose their only child.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Richard Matheson Books

Leave a Reply