Richard Preston
Richard Preston is an American author of medical suspense/thriller novels and non-fiction books. Preston has written fiction and non-fiction about topics such as bio-terrorism, viruses, redwood trees (a personal hobby) and more. He finished the Michael Crichton novel Micro following the author’s death. Richard is the brother of fellow bestselling novelist, Douglas Preston.

Richard Preston’s first book published came out in 1987, which was the non-fiction book First Light: The Search for the Edge of the Universe. His debut novel was The Cobra Event, published in 1998. Below is a list of Richard Preston’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Richard Preston releases a new book at

Publication Order of Richard Preston Standalone Novels

The Cobra Event (1997)Description / Buy at
Micro (With: Michael Crichton) (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Richard Preston Short Stories/Novellas

The Boat of Dreams: A Christmas Story (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Richard Preston Non-Fiction Books

First Light (1987)Description / Buy at
American Steel (1991)Description / Buy at
The Hot Zone (1994)Description / Buy at
The Demon in the Freezer (2002)Description / Buy at
The Wild Trees (2007)Description / Buy at
Panic in Level 4 (2008)Description / Buy at
Crisis in the Red Zone (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Note: Micro was co-authored with Michael Crichton.

If You Like Richard Preston Books, You’ll Love…

Richard Preston Synopsis: The Cobra Event is a medical suspense novel from Richard Preston. As a homeless man dies a painful death on a subway platform, commuters just watch on. Then, a teenage girl has uncontrollable, violent spasms during class. Soon afterwards, she is dead. It’s Dr. Alice Austen’s job to look into these murders, and she knows they are connected. But are they only the beginning? The novel caused President Bill Clinton to call for a review of bio-terror threats to the U.S.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Richard Preston Books

Leave a Reply