Riss M. Neilson is an American author of YA fantasy novels. Riss graduated Magna Cum Laude from Rhode Island College, where she received the English Department’s Jean Garrigue Award, judged by novelist Nick White. A proud Providence native, Riss is passionate about the city’s vibrant art and culture scene. When she’s not writing, she enjoys watching anime and playing video games with her two children.

Riss M. Neilson made her debut as a novelist in 2022 with Deep in Providence. It was a finalist for the New England Book Award. Below is a list of Riss M. Neilson’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Riss M. Neilson releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Deep in Providence (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
I'm Not Supposed to Be in the Dark (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Love Like the Sun (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

My Life: Growing Up Asian in America(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Riss M. Neilson Books, You’ll Love…

Riss M. Neilson Synopses: A Love Like the Sun is a standalone novel by Riss M. Neilson. Laniah Thompson loves the quiet life. A homebody at heart, she craves privacy and prefers the cozy confines of her hometown. She and her mom run a small but beloved natural hair store, Wildly Green, which has been struggling to stay afloat.

Issac Jordan is her complete opposite. Internet famous and constantly trailed by paparazzi, he runs an international brand and spends most of his days in the public eye. Yet, despite their differences, Laniah and Issac have been best friends since childhood.

When Issac returns to Providence after months away, he quickly learns that Laniah’s dream of running Wildly Green is slipping through her fingers. Despite his success and wealth, she flatly refuses to accept financial help from him. Determined to find a way to support her, Issac devises a wild plan: he announces to the world that they’re dating.

The publicity stunt works like magic. Business at Wildly Green booms as the media buzzes about their “romance.” Laniah reluctantly agrees to keep up the charade for the summer, just long enough to attract an investor and secure the future of her store. After all, she reminds herself, it’s the least she can do after all the support she provided Issac during their younger years.

As the summer progresses, though, Laniah realizes she might be playing with fire. The undeniable pull between them, long ignored, becomes harder to resist. The lines between their fake romance and genuine feelings blur, making it difficult to distinguish where friendship ends and something deeper begins.

Deep in Providence by Riss M. Neilson is a standalone novel. For best friends Miliani, Inez, Natalie, and Jasmine, Providence, Rhode Island has a magic all its own. From the bustling bodegas and late-night food trucks on Broad Street to the historic Hill that watches over the city, every corner of Providence glows with memories of them practicing spells, mixing up potions, and conducting séances with the help of the magic Miliani’s Filipino grandfather taught her.

But when Jasmine is tragically killed by a drunk driver, the world they have always known is left haunted by grief—and Jasmine’s lingering spirit. Determined to bring her back, the surviving friends band together, pushing the boundaries of their magic and everything they know about life, death, and each other.

As their plan to resurrect Jasmine grows darker and more demanding than they could have ever imagined, their once-unbreakable bond begins to splinter. The intense magic required for their efforts reveals buried secrets and tests their relationships, threatening the people they care about most.

Miliani, Inez, and Natalie must navigate these challenges, relying on more than just their mystical abilities to find the light and restore balance in their lives. Their journey becomes one of self-discovery, friendship, and the power of love as they confront the true costs of their quest to bring Jasmine back.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Riss M. Neilson Books

Leave a Reply