Robertson Davies (1913-1995) was a Canadian author. He was also a playwright, critic, journalist and professor. Robertson grew up in Renfrew, Ontario, and attended Upper Canada College and Queen’s University in Kingston. He lived in England for a few years, where he also earned a Bachelor of Letters degree at Balliol College, Oxford and met his wife, Brenda. He was the founding Master of Massey College at the University of Toronto. Robertson had three daughters, and from them, four grandchildren.

Robertson Davies made his debut as a novelist in 1951 with Tempest-Tost. Below is a list of Robertson Davies’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of The Cornish Trilogy Books

The Rebel Angels (1981)Description / Buy at
What's Bred in the Bone (1985)Description / Buy at
The Lyre of Orpheus (1988)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Deptford Trilogy Books

Fifth Business (1970)Description / Buy at
The Manticore (1972)Description / Buy at
World of Wonders (1975)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Salterton Trilogy Books

Tempest-Tost (1951)Description / Buy at
Leaven of Malice (1954)Description / Buy at
A Mixture of Frailties (1958)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Toronto Trilogy Books

Murther and Walking Spirits (1991)Description / Buy at
The Cunning Man (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Masque of Mr. Punch (1963)Description / Buy at
Stephen Leacock (1970)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

The Enthusiasms of Robertson Davies (1979)Description / Buy at
High Spirits (1982)Description / Buy at
At My Heart's CoreOverlaid (1991)Description / Buy at
Fortune, My Foe and Eros at Breakfast (1993)Description / Buy at
Hunting Stuart and The Voice of the People (1994)Description / Buy at
A Gathering of Ghost Stories (1995)Description / Buy at
Modern Classics Selected Works On the Art of Writing (2008)Description / Buy at
Selected Works on the Pleasures of Reading (2008)Description / Buy at
A Celtic Temperament: Robertson Davies as Diarist (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Voice from the Attic (1960)Description / Buy at
One Half of Robertson Davies (1978)Description / Buy at
The Well-Tempered Critic (1981)Description / Buy at
The Mirror of Nature (1983)Description / Buy at
The Papers of Samuel Marchbanks (1985)Description / Buy at
The Merry Heart (1996)Description / Buy at
For Your Eye Alone (1999)Description / Buy at
Happy Alchemy (1999)Description / Buy at
Robertson Davies Discoveries: Early Letters 1938-1975 (2002)Description / Buy at

If You Like Robertson Davies Books, You’ll Love…

Robertson Davies Synopsis: The Rebel Angels by Robertson Davies is the first book in the Cornish Trilogy. A goodhearted priest and scholar, a professor with a passion for the darker side of medieval psychology, a defrocked monk, and a rich young businessman who inherits some troublesome paintings are all beguiled by the same coed. The story is set in motion by the death of eccentric art patron and collector Francis Cornish. Hollier, McVarish, and Darcourt are the executors of Cornish’s complicated will, which includes material that Hollier wants for his studies. The deceased’s nephew, Arthur Cornish, stands to inherit the fortune.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robertson Davies Books

Leave a Reply