Claire Messud is an American novelist. She grew up in the U.S., Australia and Canada, and was educated at University of Toronto Schools and Milton Academy. She also studied at Yale University, Cambridge University and Syracuse University. She is a recipient of Guggenheim and Radcliffe Fellowships and the Strauss Living Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Claire lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts with her family.

Claire Messud made her debut as a novelist in 1994 with the novel When the World Was Steady. Below is a list of Claire Messud’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Claire Messud releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

When the World Was Steady (1994)Description / Buy at
The Last Life (1999)Description / Buy at
The Emperor's Children (2006)Description / Buy at
The Woman Upstairs (2013)Description / Buy at
The Burning Girl (2017)Description / Buy at
This Strange Eventful History (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Hunters (2001)Description / Buy at
The Professor's History (2006)Description / Buy at
A Dream Life (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-FIction Books

Kant's Little Prussian Head and Other Reasons Why I Write (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 51: Big Men(1995)Description / Buy at
Ploughshares Summer 2016 Guest-Edited by Claire Messud & James Wood(2016)Description / Buy at
Eat Joy(2019)Description / Buy at
The Best American Essays 2021(2021)Description / Buy at

Note: Ploughshares Summer 2016 was edited with James Wood.

If You Like Claire Messud Books, You’ll Love…

Claire Messud Synopsis: In When the World Was Steady by Claire Messud, life isn’t all Emmy and Virginia Simpson were hoping for. When Emmy’s marriage to an Australian man comes to an end, she leaves Sydney for the tropical paradise of Bali to “find herself” – only to become embroiled with an eclectic crew of international misfits and smugglers. Her sister Virginia, meanwhile, has never wandered far outside of London. Prim and pious, Virginia is struggling to find something more to life and her aging mother thinks a visit to the Isle of Skye is just what she needs. On these two islands halfway around the world, the middle-aged sisters confront their lives and their destinies with unexpected consequences.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Claire Messud Books

Leave a Reply