Robin Yocum is an American author of historical mystery and crime thriller novels. He is the president of Yocum Communications – a public relations and marketing firm – in Westerville, Ohio. Robin is also a journalist who worked as a crime and investigative reporter with the Columbus Dispatch from 1980 to 1991. During this time, he was the recipient of thirty local, state, and national journalism awards in categories ranging from investigative reporting to feature writing.

Robin Yocum made his debut as a novelist in 2011 with the novel Favorite Sons. Below is a list of Robin Yocum’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Robin Yocum releases a new book at

Publication Order of Essay Books

The Essay (2012)Description / Buy at
Red Dog Road (2013)Description / Buy at
Red Dog Road is a prequel to The Essay.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Favorite Sons (2011)Description / Buy at
A Brilliant Death (2016)Description / Buy at
A Welcome Murder (2017)Description / Buy at
A Perfect Shot (2018)Description / Buy at
The Sacrifice of Lester Yates (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Insured for Murder (With: Catherine Candisky) (1993)Description / Buy at
Dead Before Deadline (2004)Description / Buy at

If You Like Robin Yocum Books, You’ll Love…

Robin Yocum Synopsis: A Brilliant Death is a standalone novel by Robin Yocum. Amanda Baron died in a boating accident on the Ohio River in 1953. Or, so it seems. While it was widely accepted that she had died when a coal barge rammed the pleasure boat she was sharing with her lover, her body was never located. Travis Baron was an infant when his mother disappeared. After the accident and the subsequent publicity, Travis’s father scoured the house of all evidence that Amanda Baron had ever lived, and her name was never to be uttered in his presence. Now in high school, Travis yearns to know more about his mother. With the help of his best friend, Mitch Malone, Travis begins to investigate the truth about the mother he doesn’t remember. The two boys find an unlikely ally: an alcoholic former detective who served time for falsifying evidence. Although his reputation is in tatters, the information the detective provides about the death of Amanda Baron is indisputable – and dangerous. Nearly two decades after her death, Travis and Mitch piece together a puzzle lost to the dark waters of the Ohio River. They know how Amanda Baron died, and why. Now what do they do with the information?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robin Yocum Books

2 Responses to “Order of Robin Yocum Books”

  1. Luana Ashton Weber Funk: 2 months ago

    I am from Brilliant, Ohio
    Graduated with Carol Yocum….Class of 1953
    I have never read any of Robin’s books.
    Just ordered four of them. Will order more later.
    Best Wishes


  2. Jan Bowen Swartz: 4 years ago

    The Essay is one of the best books I’ve ever read😍😍


Leave a Reply