Madeleine L'Engle (Photo Credit: Sigrid Estrada)
Madeleine L’Engle (1918-2007) was an American author of young adult fiction, Christian fiction, science fiction, poetry and non-fiction. She is the author of the Time Quintet and Austin Family series. She started writing when she was eight years old, keeping a journal. Because she was shy, clumsy as a child, she was considered to be stupid by her teachers, causing her to spend more time reading and writing. After a career that was not going well financially, L’Engle was strongly considering retiring from writing on her 40th birthday, but soon came up with the idea for what would become her best-known work, A Wrinkle in Time. The young adult novel won the Newbery Award.

Madeleine L’Engle’s first novel was The Small Rain, published in 1945. She would continue writing until her death in 2007; her final original work being the non-fiction book The Joys of Love. Below is a list of Madeleine L’Engle’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Katherine Forrester Vigneras Books

Publication Order of Camilla Dickinson Books

Camilla Dickinson / Camilla (1951)Description / Buy at
A Live Coal in the Sea (1962)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Austin Family Chronicles Books

Meet the Austins (1960)Description / Buy at
The Moon by Night (1963)Description / Buy at
The Twenty-Four Days Before Christmas (1964)Description / Buy at
The Young Unicorns (1968)Description / Buy at
A Ring of Endless Light (1980)Description / Buy at
The Anti-Muffins (1981)Description / Buy at
Troubling a Star (1994)Description / Buy at
A Full House (2000)Description / Buy at
When reading this series in chronological order, Troubling a Star and The Anti-Muffins are reversed.

Publication Order of Time Quintet Books

A Wrinkle in Time (1962)Description / Buy at
A Wind in the Door (1973)Description / Buy at
A Swiftly Tilting Planet (1978)Description / Buy at
Many Waters (1986)Description / Buy at
An Acceptable Time (1989)Description / Buy at
Intergalactic P.S. 3 (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Time Quintet Graphic Novels

A Wrinkle in Time (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of O'Keefe Family Books

The Arm of the Starfish (1965)Description / Buy at
Dragons in the Waters (1976)Description / Buy at
A House Like a Lotus (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crosswicks Journals Books

A Circle of Quiet (1971)Description / Buy at
The Summer of the Great-Grandmother (1974)Description / Buy at
The Irrational Season (1976)Description / Buy at
Two Part Invention: The Story of a Marriage (1988)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Genesis Books

And It Was Good: Reflections on Beginnings (1983)Description / Buy at
A Stone for a Pillow: Journeys with Jacob (1986)Description / Buy at
Sold into Egypt: Joseph's Journey into Human Being (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ilsa (1946)Description / Buy at
And Both Were Young (1949)Description / Buy at
A Winter's Love (1957)Description / Buy at
The Love Letters (1966)Description / Buy at
Dance in the Desert (1969)Description / Buy at
The Other Side of the Sun (1971)Description / Buy at
The Weather of the Heart (1978)Description / Buy at
Certain Women (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Fact of the Matter (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Madeleine L’Engle Short Story Collections

Lines Scribbled on an Envelope and Other Poems (1969)Description / Buy at
Ladder of Angels (1979)Description / Buy at
A Cry Like a Bell (1987)Description / Buy at
The Sphinx at Dawn: Two Stories (1989)Description / Buy at
WinterSong (With: Luci Shaw) (1996)Description / Buy at
Miracle on 10th Street and Other Christmas Writings (1998)Description / Buy at
101st Miracle: Early Short Stories (1999)Description / Buy at
The Ordering of Love: The New and Collected Poems of Madeleine L'Engle (2005)Description / Buy at
The Moment of Tenderness (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Madeleine L’Engle Standalone Plays

The Journey with Jonah (1967)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Madeleine L’Engle Picture Books

Moses, Prince of Egypt (1999)Description / Buy at
The Other Dog (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Madeleine L’Engle Non-Fiction Books

Prayers for Sunday (1974)Description / Buy at
Everyday Prayers (1974)Description / Buy at
Walking on Water: Personal Reflections (1980)Description / Buy at
Trailing Clouds of Glory: Spiritual Values in Children's Literature (With: Avery Brooke) (1985)Description / Buy at
From This Day Forward (1989)Description / Buy at
The Glorious Impossible (1990)Description / Buy at
The Rock That is Higher: Story as Truth (1993)Description / Buy at
Anytime Prayers (1994)Description / Buy at
Penguins and Golden Calves: Icons and Idols in Antarctica and Other Spiritual Places (1996)Description / Buy at
Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections (With: Carole F. Chase) (1996)Description / Buy at
Bright Evening Star: Mystery of the Incarnation (1997)Description / Buy at
Friends for the Journey (With: Luci Shaw) (1997)Description / Buy at
Mothers & Daughters (1997)Description / Buy at
My Own Small Place: Developing the Writing Life (1999)Description / Buy at
A Prayerbook for Spiritual Friends: Partners in Prayer (1999)Description / Buy at
Mothers and Sons (2000)Description / Buy at
Madeleine L'Engle Herself: Reflections on a Writing Life (With: Carole F. Chase) (2001)Description / Buy at
The Joys of Love (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Luci Shaw Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Unicorn Treasury: Stories, Poems, and Unicorn Lore(1988)Description / Buy at
Writing Women's Lives(1994)Description / Buy at
Second Sight(1999)Description / Buy at
Watch for the Light: Readings for Advent and Christmas(2001)Description / Buy at
Home for Christmas: Stories for Young and Old(2002)Description / Buy at
The Wand in the Word(2006)Description / Buy at
Way More than Luck(2015)Description / Buy at
Following the Call: Living the Sermon on the Mount Together(2021)Description / Buy at

Notes: The novel Camilla Dickinson was also published as Camilla. WinterSong and Friends for the Journey were co-authored with Luci Shaw. Trailing Clouds of Glory was co-authored by Avery Brooke. Mothers & Sons and Mothers & Daughters were co-authored by Maria Rooney. Glimpses of Grace and Madeleine L’Engle Herself were co-authored by Carole F. Chase.

If You Like Madeleine L’Engle Books, You’ll Love…

Madeleine L’Engle Synopsis: In Camilla by Madeleine L’Engle, Camilla Dickinson is a 15 year-old who has had an easy life, but now her parents are starting to act strange towards eachother and fighting over her. Camilla is caught between the two. She soon meets her best friend’s brother, Frank, who lets her know she’s not alone.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Madeleine L’Engle Books

Leave a Reply