Roy Lewis is a British author of crime fiction novels. He writes the John Crow, the Eric Ward, and the Arnold Landon series. Roy sets many of his novels in the north of England, which is where he lives. He is a former college principal and Inspector of Schools. He has three children, who are all lawyers.

Roy Lewis made his debut as a novelist in 1969 with the novel A Lover Too Many. Below is a list of Roy Lewis’ books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Roy Lewis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Arnold Landon Books

A Gathering of Ghosts / Murder in the Barn (1983)Description / Buy at
Most Cunning Workmen / Murder in the Manor (1985)Description / Buy at
A Trout in the Milk / Murder in the Farmhouse (1986)Description / Buy at
Men of Subtle Craft / Murder in the Stableyard (1987)Description / Buy at
The Devil is Dead / Murder in the Church (1989)Description / Buy at
A Wisp of Smoke / Murder in the House (1992)Description / Buy at
A Secret Dying / Murder in the Tower (1993)Description / Buy at
Bloodeagle / Murder Under the Bridge (1993)Description / Buy at
The Cross Bearer / Murder by the Quay (1994)Description / Buy at
A Short-Lived Ghost / Murder at the Folly (1995)Description / Buy at
Angel of Death / Murder in the Field (1996)Description / Buy at
Suddenly as a Shadow / Murder in the Cottage (1997)Description / Buy at
The Shape-Shifter / Murder at Haggburn Hall (1998)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Dancers / Murder on the Golf Course (1998)Description / Buy at
An Assumption of Death / Murder on the Dawn Princess (2000)Description / Buy at
Dead Secret / Murder in Wolfcleugh Woods (2001)Description / Buy at
The Ways of Death / Murder at Abby Head (2002)Description / Buy at
Headhunter / Murder in the South of France (2004)Description / Buy at
Grave Error / Murder in Rome (2005)Description / Buy at
Dragon Head / Murder in China (2007)Description / Buy at
Shadowmaker / Murder in La Rochelle (2009)Description / Buy at
Goddess of Death / Murder in Valencia (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Eric Ward Books

A Certain Blindness / The Sedleigh Hall Murder (1980)Description / Buy at
Dwell in Danger / The Farming Murder (1982)Description / Buy at
A Limited Vision / The Quayside Murder (1983)Description / Buy at
Once Dying, Twice Dead / The Diamond Murder (1984)Description / Buy at
A Blurred Reality / The Geordie Murder (1985)Description / Buy at
Premium on Death / The Shipping Murder (1986)Description / Buy at
The Salamander Chill / The City of London Murder (1988)Description / Buy at
A Necessary Dealing / The Apartment Murder (1989)Description / Buy at
A Kind of Transaction / The Spanish Villa Murder (1991)Description / Buy at
A Form of Death / The Marriage Murder (2001)Description / Buy at
The Nightwalker / The Wasteful Murder (2002)Description / Buy at
Phantom / The Phantom Murder (2003)Description / Buy at
Dead Man Running / The Slaughterhouse Murder (2003)Description / Buy at
Embers of the Dead / The Tattoo Murder (2005)Description / Buy at
Death Squad / The Football Murder (2007)Description / Buy at
Guardian of the Dead / The Tutankhamun Murder (2008)Description / Buy at
Design for Murder / The Zodiac Murder (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector John Crow Books

A Lover Too Many (1969)Description / Buy at
Error of Judgment (1971)Description / Buy at
A Secret Singing / The Woods Murder (1971)Description / Buy at
Blood Money / Murder for Money (1973)Description / Buy at
A Question of Degree / Murder in the Mine (1974)Description / Buy at
A Part of Virtue / A Cotswolds Murder / A Dartmoor Murder (1975)Description / Buy at
Nothing But Foxes / A Fox Hunting Murder (1977)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Evolution Man: Or, How I Ate My Father (1960)Description / Buy at
A Wolf by the Ears (1970)Description / Buy at
The Fenokee Project (1971)Description / Buy at
A Fool for a Client (1972)Description / Buy at
Of Singular Purpose (1973)Description / Buy at
Double Take (1975)Description / Buy at
Witness My Death (1976)Description / Buy at
A Distant Banner (1976)Description / Buy at
An Uncertain Sound (1978)Description / Buy at
An Inevitable Fatality (1978)Description / Buy at
A Violent Death (1979)Description / Buy at
Seek for Justice (1981)Description / Buy at
The Secret of Skull Island (2008)Description / Buy at
Murder in Malacca (2008)Description / Buy at
Dead Ringer (2011)Description / Buy at
The Paduan Conspiracy / Cardinal Obsession (2012)Description / Buy at
The Lady and the Lawyers (2012)Description / Buy at
Cardinal Error (2012)Description / Buy at
Breaths of Suspicion (2013)Description / Buy at
A Fugitive Englishman (2014)Description / Buy at
Shadows of the Past (2017)Description / Buy at
A Distant Bugle (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Brought to Justice (2012)Description / Buy at
The Golden Caverns (2013)Description / Buy at
The Undertakers (2013)Description / Buy at
Command of the Sea Tiger (2013)Description / Buy at
Death in the Desert (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Certain Private Incidents (2013)Description / Buy at

Note: The Paduan Conspiracy was also published as Cardinal Obsession.

If You Like Roy Lewis Books, You’ll Love…

Roy Lewis Synopsis: A Wolf by the Ears is a standalone title by Roy Lewis. After his parents died in a fire, Stephen Kirk expected to inherit a fortune, although his parents did not leave a will. But doubts are soon cast on his legitimacy. David Centre, a qualified solicitor, attempts to figure out Kirk’s complicated family history, only for his client to be arrested on a more serious charge. Stephen Kirk could remember nothing of his actions on the night his parents were killed. Centre soon discovers that a number of people had a keen interest in getting rid of Harry Kirk. It turns out there was no shortage of suspects.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Roy Lewis Books

Leave a Reply