Rudie van Rensburg is a South African author of crime fiction novels. He is also an accomplished artist, painter, and playwright. Born in Bloemfontein in 1951, he attended Central High School in the city before pursuing higher education. He furthered his education at Unisa, obtaining a degree in communication science, and later earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of the Free State. In the 1970s, Rudie embarked on a career in journalism, initially joining Die Volksblad as a journalist. However, he transitioned to entrepreneurship by co-founding and becoming a publisher of Bloemnuus, a pioneering free weekly paper in the Free State. Although the publication eventually ceased operations, it left a mark on the local media landscape.

Rudie’s journey continued as he became the editor of Die Ekonoom, a prominent nationwide business magazine. His association with the University of the Free State’s public relations bureau showcased his diverse skill set. In 1987, he shifted gears and moved to Cape Town, joining Sanlam, a prominent financial services group. During his two-decade tenure at Sanlam, Rudie served as a senior manager overseeing advertising, held positions as head of promotions and sponsorships, and published their customer magazine.

Rudie van Rensburg made his debut in the English language with Piranha in 2020. He had published many different novels in Afrikaans up to that point, including his award-winning debut novel Slagyster in 2013. Below is a list of Rudie van Rensburg’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Rudie van Rensburg releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Slagyster (Afrikaans Edition) (2013)Description / Buy at
Piranha (2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Rudie van Rensburg Books, You’ll Love…

Rudie van Rensburg Synopses: Piranha is a standalone novel by Rudie van Rensburg. Despite his unassuming demeanor, Kassie Kasselman, a skilled detective in the South African Police, is a force to be reckoned with. As he delves into the investigation of a former colleague’s disappearance, it becomes evident that there’s more at play than a straightforward case of a missing person involved in drug-related activities. The situation appears to be intricately connected to a kidnapping incident that has occurred at the curio shop where his colleague Rooi Els’s spouse has recently begun working.

From the rough neighborhoods of Cape Town to the dangerous realm of Kruger National Park’s rhino poachers, Kassie must untangle the enigma swiftly yet cautiously—otherwise, Rooi’s wife could end up as prey for the predators.

Slagyster is a standalone novel by Rudie van Rensburg, only published in the Afrikaans language (as of 2023). Rudie van Rensburg Synopses: Inspector Kassie Kasselman finds a murder case file on his desk…

In the dense woods of the Niger Delta, Ryan Deetlefs, a South African employee of the greedy company Star Petro, is being held captive by a rebel group that has already caused the deaths of multiple oil workers.

Herhoff, Malan, and Van Dyk Transport in Cape Town is a thriving business, and soon the three colleagues will further expand their financial endeavors. They have a highly profitable secondary income stream, working together with high-ranking SAPD officials and engaging in Nigerian illicit trade. However, what about the challenges posed by Brink van Dyk and his association with the Taliban?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Rudie van Rensburg Books

Leave a Reply