Ryan Steck is an American author of thriller novels. He writes the Matthew Redd series. Ryan is also the founder/editor of The Real Book Spy website, and is a freelance editor and book doctor. He is a fan of the Detroit Tigers and the Detroit Lions. He is married with six children.

Ryan Steck made his debut as a novelist in 2022 with Fields of Fire. Below is a list of Ryan Steck’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Ryan Steck releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Matthew Redd Thriller Books

Fields of Fire (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lethal Range (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Redd Christmas (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Out for Blood (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The novella Redd Christmas is a prequel to Fields of Fire.

If You Like Ryan Steck Books, You’ll Love…

Ryan Steck Synopses: Fields of Fire by Ryan Steck is the first book in the Matthew Redd series. Awaiting deployment on a critical mission, elite Marine Raider Matthew Redd stops to assist a stranger, only to wake up later and discover that his entire team was wiped out in an ambush. With no recollection of the events, Redd is faced with the possibility that he might be responsible for the information leak that led to the massacre. To avoid a charge of treason, he’s presented with a deal that requires him to walk away from the Corps and the life he cherished.

Confronting his loss, Matty receives a mysterious message from his adoptive father, J. B., urging him to come home as trouble is brewing and assistance might be needed. Returning to rural Montana, he finds that J. B. has passed away, and the explanation for his death is unsatisfactory. Determined to uncover the truth, Redd unravels a dark global conspiracy centered on his hometown, with no team at his side except for one he must assemble from past friends, old enemies, and new allies—provided he can discern who to trust.

Lethal Range by Ryan Steck is book 2 in the Matthew Redd series. On an island off Spain’s coast, Matthew Redd and his FBI fly team conduct surveillance on a luxury villa, aiming to apprehend a high-value fugitive. However, when Redd leads an unauthorized raid on the villa, he discovers they’ve fallen into a trap, leading to his return home to face the consequences of defying orders.

Simultaneously, Redd’s wife, Emily, navigates a remote stretch of Montana road, en route to the doctor with their ailing baby. Encountering a biker gang that harasses her, Emily fights to keep her SUV on the road as the situation escalates. Surprisingly, the bikers suddenly back off, leaving her shaken but unharmed.

Upon returning home, Redd, suspended from his team, believes he is to blame for Emily’s harassment, stemming from his previous encounter with the local biker gang. Anticipating further trouble, he prepares to defend his family. However, Redd discovers that the gang is more formidable than he imagined, and there’s a deeper motive behind their vendetta. With his son’s health deteriorating and his cherished ranch facing financial ruin, Redd finds himself entangled in a multifaceted war—one he cannot win on his own.

Redd Christmas by Ryan Steck is a prequel novella in the Matthew Redd series. At the tender age of ten, Matthew Redd faced the loss of his mother, finding solace in Montana with J. B. Thompson—a man who valued hard work and a modest lifestyle. Prior to becoming Redd’s father, J. B. had little reason to celebrate Christmas, but he wholeheartedly embraced the holiday season by establishing traditions that included a tree, practical gifts, and the essential holiday movies: A Christmas Story and Die Hard.

Fast forward eight years, and Redd realizes that this Christmas marks his final one at the ranch with his dad before embarking on his journey to join the Marines. On a whim, he promises J. B. that even if they can’t be together on Christmas Eve, he will faithfully call every year without fail.

Redd upholds this promise until the year his squadron is summoned to assist a nearby Special Forces team under enemy fire. Tasked with securing the scene and evacuating the wounded, the Marines quickly realize that the initial attack was just the beginning. Soon, Redd and his team find themselves outnumbered and outgunned. With time running out, he contemplates whether this is the year he must break his promise or if he’ll emerge from the mission alive.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ryan Steck Books

Leave a Reply