Samantha Irby is an American author, comedian, and blogger. Irby is best known for her collections of essays, including We Are Never Meeting in Real Life and Wow, No Thank You. Irby was honored in 2021 with the Lambda Literary Award for bisexual nonfiction.

Irby grew up in Illinois and eventually went on to attend Northern Illinois University. However, they ended up dropping out after the death of her mother. They would eventually start blogging, launching the blog: bitches gotta eat in 2009. They would later release her collection of essays which made it onto the New York Times Bestsellers list. In addition to her work as an author and comedian, Irby has written for television on shows such as Shrill and Sex and the City.

Get notified when Samantha Irby releases a new book at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Meaty (2013)Description / Buy at
New Year, Same Trash: Resolutions I Absolutely Did Not Keep (2017)Description / Buy at
We Are Never Meeting in Real Life. (2017)Description / Buy at
Wow, No Thank You. (2020)Description / Buy at
Quietly Hostile: Essays (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Nasty Women: Feminism, Resistance, and Revolution in Trump's America(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Samantha Irby Books, You’ll Love…

We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.: Essays sees Irby writing about everything from her difficult childhood to her trouble making budgets. They also lay out a pretty strong case why Samantha should be the new Bachlorette while also detailing a disastrous pilgrimage-slash-romantic-vacation to Nashville to scatter her estranged father’s ashes. The book is a mix of funny stories where they manage to poke fun at their past self while also delivering powerful emotional truths about life.

Wow, No Thank You.: Essays won Irby the 2021 Lambda Literary Award for Bisexual Nonfiction. The book is a collection of stories from Irby’s life at 40 when they have had a taste of success and settled down with a wife in a Blue town in the middle of a Red state. The book is filled with tales from Irby’s life from bad dates with new friends, time spent in Los Angeles meeting with executives, and more. The essays are told with Irby’s trademark raw and hilarious honesty.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Samantha Irby Books

Leave a Reply