Sara Douglass is an Australian fantasy author. She is best known for writing the Axis Trilogy, the Wayfarer Redemption series, The Crucible series, and the Troy Game series.

The name Sara Douglass is a pen name used by Sara Warneke. She is a former winner of the Aurealis Award for best fantasy novel. Sara completed her PhD in early modern English History. She used this degree to work at La Trobe University. While working there as a lecturer she wrote her first novel, BattleAxe. Many of her books take place in the universe of the Axis Trilogy.

Publication Order of The Wayfarer Redemption Books

The Wayfarer Redemption / Battleaxe (1995)Description / Buy at
Enchanter (1996)Description / Buy at
Starman (1996)Description / Buy at
Sinner (1997)Description / Buy at
Pilgrim (1998)Description / Buy at
Crusader (1999)Description / Buy at
Reading order: read the Wayfarer Redemption series, then the Darkglass Prequel series, then the Darkglass series.

Publication Order of DarkGlass Mountain Prequel Books

Threshold (1997)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Hanging Wall (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of DarkGlass Mountain Books

The Serpent Bride (2007)Description / Buy at
The Twisted Citadel (2008)Description / Buy at
The Infinity Gate (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Crucible Books

The Nameless Day (2000)Description / Buy at
The Wounded Hawk (2001)Description / Buy at
The Crippled Angel (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Troy Game Books

Hades' Daughter (2002)Description / Buy at
Gods' Concubine (2003)Description / Buy at
Darkwitch Rising (2005)Description / Buy at
Druid's Sword (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Devil's Diadem (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Betrayal Of Arthur (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Hall of Lost Footsteps (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror Books

The Year's Best Australian Fantasy & Horror 2010 (2011)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Australian Fantasy & Horror 2011 (2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sara Douglass Books, You’ll Love…

The Wayfarer Redemption begins with a book of the same name. The book takes place in the Axis Trilogy universe. Achar is under attack by Gorgreal, an evil lord from the North and his ice demons. A woman named Faraday learns that all she’s been told is a lie and flees for safety with Axis. She secretly loves him, but will never tell. Instead, she’ll go on a journey that will change her life and help her to find out the real truth and the true nature of her people.

Hades’ Daughter is the first book in the Troy Game series. The story takes place in ancient Greece where the Gods treat humans as playthings. In the core of the city-states is the Labyrinth which can shape those powers to people’s own designs. Theseus entered the Labyrinth and came away with Adrianne, Mistress of the Labyrinth, and it seemed his life would be good. A woman scorned corrupted this world. Then she had a daughter and he abandoned her. Ever since then, the world has begun to change and the Labyrinths have begun to decay. A hundred years later, a warrior named Brutus is being called by the siren call of the granddaughter of Adrianne and she too carries a hatred for these men.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sara Douglass Books

One Response to “Order of Sara Douglass Books”

  1. Gary Eggleston: 6 months ago

    Gday all!

    When seeing the list of the wayfarer and dark glass mountain series, perhaps Beyond the Hanging Wall could be inserted between Starman and Sinner? As the events in Hanging Wall are related within the first few chapters of Sinner.

    This is purely in regards to read order, rather than publication.


Leave a Reply