Sara Woods was a British mystery writer best known for writing the Anthony Maitland, Barrister series of books.

Woods was a pen name used by Lana Hutton Bowen-Judd. She also wrote under the names of Anne Burton, Mary Challis, and Margaret Leek. She was born in Bradford, Yorkshire and then went on to Convent of the Sacred Heart in Filey, Yorkshire for her education. She married in 1946 and the two would move to Nova Scotia, Canada in 1957. Four years later, she wrote her first novel in the Maitland series, Bloody Instructions.

Publication Order of Antony Maitland Books

Bloody Instructions (1961)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic (1962)Description / Buy at
Error of the Moon (1963)Description / Buy at
The Taste of Fears / The Third Encounter (1963)Description / Buy at
This Little Measure (1964)Description / Buy at
Trusted Like the Fox (1964)Description / Buy at
Though I Know She Lies (1965)Description / Buy at
Let's Choose Executors (1966)Description / Buy at
And Shame the Devil (1967)Description / Buy at
Past Praying For (1968)Description / Buy at
Knives Have Edges (1970)Description / Buy at
An Improbable Fiction (1970)Description / Buy at
Tarry and Be Hanged (1971)Description / Buy at
The Knavish Crows (1971)Description / Buy at
Serpent's Tooth (1971)Description / Buy at
They Love Not Poison (1972)Description / Buy at
Enter the Corpse (1973)Description / Buy at
Yet She Must Die (1973)Description / Buy at
Done to Death (1974)Description / Buy at
A Show of Violence (1975)Description / Buy at
My Life Is Done (1976)Description / Buy at
The Law's Delay (1977)Description / Buy at
A Thief or Two (1977)Description / Buy at
Exit Murderer (1978)Description / Buy at
This Fatal Writ (1979)Description / Buy at
They Stay for Death (1980)Description / Buy at
Weep for Her (1980)Description / Buy at
Proceed to Judgement (1980)Description / Buy at
Cry Guilty (1981)Description / Buy at
Dearest Enemy (1981)Description / Buy at
Enter a Gentlewoman (1982)Description / Buy at
Most Grievous Murder (1982)Description / Buy at
Villains by Necessity (1982)Description / Buy at
Call Back Yesterday (1983)Description / Buy at
The Lie Direct (1983)Description / Buy at
Where Should He Die? (1983)Description / Buy at
The Bloody Book of Law (1984)Description / Buy at
Murder's Out of Tune (1984)Description / Buy at
Defy the Devil (1984)Description / Buy at
Away with Them to Prison (1985)Description / Buy at
Put Out the Light (1985)Description / Buy at
An Obscure Grave (1985)Description / Buy at
Most Deadly Hate (1986)Description / Buy at
Nor Live So Long (1986)Description / Buy at
Naked Villainy (1987)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Richard Trenton Books

(as Anne Burton)

The Dear Departed (1980)Description / Buy at
Where There\'s a Will (As:Anne Burton) (1980)Description / Buy at
Worse Than a Crime (1981)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jeremy Locke Books

(as Mary Challis)

Crimes Past (1980)Description / Buy at
Burden of Proof (1980)Description / Buy at
The Ghost of an Idea (1981)Description / Buy at
A Very Good Hater (1981)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Stephen Marryat Books

(as Margaret Leek)

The Healthy Grave (1980)Description / Buy at
We Must Have a Trial (1980)Description / Buy at
Voice of the Past (1981)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sara Woods Books, You’ll Love…

Bloody Instructions sees an elderly family solicitor that has turned up dead. He was used to taking his four o’clock tea alone in his chambers, but on this day he turned up dead. It could’ve been any of his clients from that day, but all signs are pointing to Joseph Dowling who has evidence working against him. Dowling is an actor who is performing Macbeth with a bloody dagger, the same kind that has been found in the lawyer’s back. The actor will be tried in a British courtroom for the crime and be prosecuted for it unless barrister-detective Antony Maitland can find the real killer.

Another good book in the series is called Error of the Moon. The story sees Maitland working undercover as a new employee at the General Aircraft company in Yorkshire. He’s there because of some missing documents that point towards espionage and the dead body that was left behind. Maitland will need to use all the skills he learned in the war to find the traitor. There are plenty of suspects at the company, but as the bodies start piling up – the suspect list shrinks. Maitland will need to work quick to find the killer before they strike again.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sara Woods Books

Leave a Reply