Sarah Andrews is a geologist and American author who writes the popular Em Hansen series of books. The character in her book is a geologist and she draws a lot from her real life experiences in writing the books.

Sarah grew up loving the great outdoors and would enjoy wandering through the woods in Maine as a child. Her father was an artist and her mother was a teacher so a love of art and reading was instilled in her at a young age. At Colorado College she would take classes in both creative writing and geology which fueled her two lifelong passions. She wrote Tensleep based on some actual experiencess, drawing from her time working for Amoco. Sarah would marry a fellow geologist and have her first child at the age of 42. After having her child she would leave her job as an environmental geologist and focus on motherhood and writing books.

Publication Order of Em Hansen Mystery Books

Publication Order of Valena Walker Books

In Cold Pursuit (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Deadly Allies Books

Deadly Allies (With: Sue Grafton,Sara Paretsky,Jan Grape,Susan Dunlap,Margaret Maron,Nancy Pickard,Loren D. Estleman,Julie Smith,Jeremiah Healy,Max Allan Collins,Benjamin M. Schutz,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi,Carolyn Hart,Lia Matera,Michael Collins,Marilyn Wallace,Rob Kantner,Sandra Scoppettone,Bob Randisi) (1992)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies II (By: Susan Dunlap,Loren D. Estleman,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi) (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Sarah Andrews Books, You’ll Love…

Tensleep is the first book in the Em Hansen series. The book follows Em as she is working as a geologist on an oil rigging mission in the badlands of Wyoming. When a geologist and a well-worker both die to due to fatal accidents, the unassuming Em starts to suspect foul play. The more she looks into things, the more she realizes who her supervisors really are.

One of the most popular books in the series is Bone Hunter. This books sees Em heading to Utah for a paleontology conference. She soon realizes that the world of high-stakes dinosaur study is more dangerous than she thought when a notorious dinosaur expert ends up dead, stabbed to death by a dinosaur bone. The worlds of dinosaur research and conservative Mormonism collide as Hansen searches for the killer.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sarah Andrews Books

Leave a Reply