Sharan Newman is an American author best known for writing historical novels such as the Catherine LaVendeur series of books. The first book in that series, Death Comes as Epiphany, won the Macavity Award for Best First Novel in 1994.

Newman graduated Antioch College in 1971 before moving on to Michigan State University where she gained a master’s in medieval literature. She would remain on the topic to do doctoral work in Medieval studies at the University of California at Santa Barbara. In addition to writing, she also lectures in medieval history.

Get notified when Sharan Newman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Catherine LeVendeur Books

Death Comes As Epiphany (1993)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Door (1994)Description / Buy at
The Wandering Arm (1995)Description / Buy at
Strong as Death (1996)Description / Buy at
Cursed in the Blood (1998)Description / Buy at
The Difficult Saint (1999)Description / Buy at
To Wear the White Cloak (2000)Description / Buy at
Heresy (2002)Description / Buy at
The Outcast Dove (2003)Description / Buy at
The Witch in the Well (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crime Through Time Books

Crime Through Time II (By: Miriam Grace Monfredo) (1998)Description / Buy at
Crime Through Time III (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Guinevere Books

Guinevere (1980)Description / Buy at
The Chessboard Queen (1983)Description / Buy at
Guinevere Evermore (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dagda's Harp (1976)Description / Buy at
The Shanghai Tunnel (2008)Description / Buy at
Defending the City of God (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Death Before Compline (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Real History Behind the Da Vinci Code (2005)Description / Buy at
The Real History Behind the Templars (2007)Description / Buy at
The Real History of the End of the World (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 5(1996)Description / Buy at
The Sunken Sailor(2004)Description / Buy at
Thou Shalt Not Kill(2005)Description / Buy at
Death's Excellent Vacation(2010)Description / Buy at
Tales of the Shadowmen 7: Femmes Fatales(2010)Description / Buy at
Stop the World: Snapshots from a Pandemic(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sharan Newman Books, You’ll Love…

Death Comes As Epiphany is the first book in the Catherine LeVendeur Mystery series. The book introduces us to the title character as a young scholar who heads to the Convent of the Paraclete to conquer her sin of pride. A manuscript of the great Abbe Sugar has disappeared with many people saying it’s because of sacrilegious passages. The manuscript must be found to save the Order and Catherine is on the case. She will risk everything including her own disgrace and the wrath of the Church to find it while confronting an evil older than time itself. With her very soul at risk, Catherine will put it all on the line to save the Order.

Another book by Newman is called Defending the City of God. The book tells the tale of a medieval queen, the first Crusades, and the quest for peace in Jerusalem. The daughters of the King of Jerusalem are here to hold together the frail treaties and marriages that allow for peace among all of the factions in Jerusalem. The crusaders fighting to maintain their conquests will have their relationships unraveled and the cultural diversity of the city is lost as hard line factions take over the city. Told with epic battles and political intrigue, this book is a great look at the forgotten parts of the first Crusades.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sharan Newman Books

Leave a Reply