Shelby Foote
Shelby Foote (1916-2005) was a American novelist and military historian. He is best known for his three-volume history of the Civil War entitled The Civil War: A Narrative. With geographic and cultural roots in the Mississippi Delta, Foote’s life and writing paralleled the radical shift from the agrarian planter system of the Old South to the Civil Rights era of the New South. Foote was relatively unknown to the general public for most of his career until his appearance on the PBS documentary “The Civil War” in 1990, where he introduced a generation of Americans to a war that he believed was central to the lives of all Americans. Foote passed away in 2005 (aged 88) and was interred in Elmwood Cemetery in Memphis. His grave is beside the family plot of General Forrest.

Shelby Foote made his debut as a published author in 1949 with the novel Tournament. Below is a list of Shelby Foote’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Civil War Books

The Civil War, Vol. 1: Fort Sumter to Perryville (1958)Description / Buy at
The Civil War, Vol. 2: Fredericksburg to Meridian (1963)Description / Buy at
The Civil War, Vol. 3: Red River to Appomattox (1974)Description / Buy at
Chickamauga and Other Civil War Stories (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tournament (1949)Description / Buy at
Follow Me Down (1950)Description / Buy at
Love in a Dry Season (1951)Description / Buy at
Shiloh (1952)Description / Buy at
September, September (1978)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Stars in Their Courses (1994)Description / Buy at
The Beleaguered City (1995)Description / Buy at
The Correspondence of Shelby Foote and Walker Percy (1996)Description / Buy at

If You Like Shelby Foote Books, You’ll Love…

Shelby Foote Synopsis: Love in a Dry Season is a novel by Shelby Foote, about two Depression-era Mississippi families that anticipates much of what he’d go onto write about in his monumental Civil War trilogy, rendering the clash between North and South with a violence all the more shocking for its intimacy.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Shelby Foote Books

One Response to “Order of Shelby Foote Books”

  1. Linda R Hibbs: 3 years ago

    I enjoyed his narrative on the civil war with ken Burns and was sorry that he passed away he had a great deal of knowledge about this and really did educate myself an awful lot I will order his and books and many thanks!


Leave a Reply