Sherwood Smith
Sherwood Smith is an American author of science fiction, fantasy and historical romance novels for both young adults and adults. She writes several series including Wren, Exordium (with Dave Trowbridge), Crown and Court Duel, Inda, CJ’s Notebooks and more series. Sherwood is a retired part-time grade school teacher. She lives in California.

Sherwood Smith became a published novelist in 1990 with the novel Wren to the Rescue. Below is a list of Sherwood Smith’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Sherwood Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Change Books

(with Rachel Manija Brown)

Publication Order of CJ's Notebooks Books

Over the Sea (2007)Description / Buy at
Mearsies Heili Bounces Back (2008)Description / Buy at
Hunt Across Worlds (2011)Description / Buy at
Poor World (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dobrenica Books

Coronets and Steel (2010)Description / Buy at
Blood Spirits (2011)Description / Buy at
Revenant Eve (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Exordium Books

The Phoenix in Flight (1993)Description / Buy at
Ruler of Naught (1993)Description / Buy at
A Prison Unsought (1994)Description / Buy at
The Rifter's Covenant (1995)Description / Buy at
The Thrones of Kronos (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inda Books

Publication Order of Lhind Books

Lhind the Thief (2013)Description / Buy at
Lhind the Spy (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lilah's Adventures Books

Publication Order of The Norsunder War Books

Ship Without Sails (2022)Description / Buy at
Marend of Marloven Hess (2022)Description / Buy at
Seek to Hold the Wind (2022)Description / Buy at
All Things Betray (2022)Description / Buy at
A Chain of Braided Silver (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Phoenix Feather Books

Publication Order of Rise of the Alliance Books

A Sword Named Truth (2019)Description / Buy at
The Blood Mage Texts (2021)Description / Buy at
The Hunters and the Hunted (2022)Description / Buy at
Nightside of the Sun (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sagacious Books

Publication Order of Sasharia en Garde! Books

Once a Princess (2008)Description / Buy at
Twice a Prince (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sophy Croft's Books

Fair Winds and Homeward Sail (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Time of Daughters Books

Time of Daughters I (2019)Description / Buy at
Time of Daughters II (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Time Traders/Ross Murdock Books

The Time Traders (By: Andre Norton) (1958)Description / Buy at
Galactic Derelict (By: Andre Norton) (1959)Description / Buy at
The Defiant Agents (By: Andre Norton) (1962)Description / Buy at
Key Out of Time (By: Andre Norton) (1963)Description / Buy at
Firehand (By: Andre Norton) (1994)Description / Buy at
Echoes in Time (With: Andre Norton) (1999)Description / Buy at
Atlantis Endgame (With: Andre Norton) (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Voyage of the Basset Books

Islands in the Sky (By: Tanith Lee) (1999)Description / Buy at
The Raven Queen (By: Terri Windling) (1999)Description / Buy at
Journey to Otherwhere (2000)Description / Buy at
Thor's Hammer (By: Will Shetterly) (2000)Description / Buy at
Fire Bird (By: Mary Frances Zambreno) (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Wren Books

Wren to the Rescue (1990)Description / Buy at
Wren's Quest (1993)Description / Buy at
Wren's War (1995)Description / Buy at
Wren Journeymage (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Borrowers: Movie Tie-In (1952)Description / Buy at
Senrid (2007)Description / Buy at
The Trouble with Kings (2008)Description / Buy at
A Posse of Princesses (2008)Description / Buy at
Barefoot Pirate (2011)Description / Buy at
Fleeing Peace (2011)Description / Buy at
Banner of the Damned (2012)Description / Buy at
Danse de la Folie (2012)Description / Buy at
Rondo Allegro (2014)Description / Buy at
Zapped (2015)Description / Buy at
Miss Eleanor Tilney (2016)Description / Buy at
The Wicked Skill (2022)Description / Buy at
Let the Torrent Dance Thee Down (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Being Real (2014)Description / Buy at
The Poignant Sting (2015)Description / Buy at
And Horses are Born with Eagles' Wings (2015)Description / Buy at
The Dancing Monkeys (2015)Description / Buy at
Henry and Fanny (2015)Description / Buy at
Commando Bats (2015)Description / Buy at
Lily and Crown (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Whispered Magics (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda Books

The Broken Places (By: Daniel Morris,Ethlie Ann Vare) (2003)Description / Buy at
Destruction of Illusions (By: Keith R.A. DeCandido) (2003)Description / Buy at
Through the Looking Glass (By: Josepha Sherman) (2004)Description / Buy at
Waystation (By: Steven E. McDonald) (2004)Description / Buy at
The Attitude of Silence (By: Jeffrey Mariotte) (2005)Description / Buy at
Paradise Drift (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gene Roddenberry's Earth: Final Conflict Books

The Arrival (By: Fred Saberhagen) (1999)Description / Buy at
Requiem for Boone (By: Debra Doyle) (2000)Description / Buy at
Gene Roddenberry's Earth (By: Debra Doyle) (2000)Description / Buy at
Augur's Teacher (2001)Description / Buy at
Heritage (By: Doranna Durgin) (2001)Description / Buy at
Legacy (By: Glenn R. Sixbury) (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Solar Queen Books

Sargasso of Space (By: Andre Norton) (1955)Description / Buy at
Plague Ship (By: Andre Norton) (1956)Description / Buy at
Voodoo Planet (By: Andre Norton) (1959)Description / Buy at
Postmarked the Stars (By: Andre Norton) (1969)Description / Buy at
Redline the Stars (By: Andre Norton) (1993)Description / Buy at
Derelict for Trade (With: Andre Norton) (1997)Description / Buy at
A Mind for Trade (With: Andre Norton) (1998)Description / Buy at
The Solar Queen (By: Andre Norton) (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Wizard's Dozen(1993)Description / Buy at
Between the Darkness and the Fire(1998)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Last Star(2002)Description / Buy at
Firebirds: An Anthology of Original Fantasy and Science Fiction(2003)Description / Buy at
New Magics(2004)Description / Buy at
Firebirds Soaring(2009)Description / Buy at
Lace and Blade 2(2009)Description / Buy at
Dragon Lords and Warrior Women(2010)Description / Buy at
Athena's Daughters, Vol. 1(2014)Description / Buy at
It Happened at the Ball(2018)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Exordium series is co-authored by Dave Trowbridge. The Solar Queen and Time Traders books are written with Andre Norton. The Change series is written with Rachel Manija Brown. Dragon Lords and Warrior Women also has stories by Katharine Kerr, Ursula K. Le Guin and Vonda N. McIntyre. Beyond the Last Star was edited with Jeffry Dwight.

If You Like Sherwood Smith Books, You’ll Love…

Sherwood Smith Synopses: Wren to the Rescue by Sherwood Smith is the first book in the Wren series. After learning that her best friend, Tess, is secretly a princess, Wren is stuck in the midst of a battle between warriors, beasts, and sorcerers when the princess is kidnapped.

Phoenix in Flight by Sherwood Smith and Dave Trowbridge is the first book in the Exordium series. Brandon nyr-Arkad, the Emperor’s scapegrace youngest son, defies protocol and evades a ceremonial duty, a defiance punishable by death.

In Derelict for Trade by Andre Norton and Sherwood Smith, Captain Jellico and the crew of the Solar Queen have stumbled upon an abandoned ship and claimed the right to salvage the derelict vessel, only to become the targets of a secret alien hijacking ring out to sabotage their claim.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sherwood Smith Books

Leave a Reply