Stephanie Merritt is an English author of contemporary fiction and thriller novels. She also writes historical thrillers as S.J. Parris. Stephanie earned her English degree from Queens’ College, Cambridge. She has worked as a critic and feature writer for several different publications. She was Deputy Literary Editor of The Observer from 1998 to 2005; a publication she still writes for, along with The Guardian. She appears regularly as a critic and panellist for BBC Radio 4 and BBC Radio 4 Extra.

Stephanie Merritt made her debut as a novelist in 2002 with the novel Gaveston. Below is a list of Stephanie Merritt’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Stephanie Merritt releases a new book at

Publication Order of Giordano Bruno Books

(as S.J. Parris)

Heresy (2010)Description / Buy at
Prophecy (2011)Description / Buy at
Sacrilege (2012)Description / Buy at
The Secret Dead (2013)Description / Buy at
Treachery (2014)Description / Buy at
Conspiracy (2016)Description / Buy at
Execution (2020)Description / Buy at
The Dead of Winter: Three Giordano Bruno Novellas (2020)Description / Buy at
Alchemy (2023)Description / Buy at
The Secret Dead is a prequel.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Devil Within (2008)Description / Buy at

Note: The Giordano Bruno series is written as S.J. Parris.

If You Like Stephanie Merritt Books, You’ll Love…

Stephanie Merritt Synopsis: Gaveston is a standalone title by Stephanie Merritt. When Gaby Harvey, daughter of media magnate Sir Edward Hamilton Harvey and research student at the prestigious St. Dunstan’s College, first sets eyes on Piers Gaveston, she immediately senses danger. Aloof, narcissistic and devastatingly attractive, Gaveston’s charms still prove impossible for Gaby to resist and as he works his way through the London media world, he also works his way into her heart, with devastating consequences.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Stephanie Merritt Books

Leave a Reply