Stephen Coonts is an American author who is know for his thriller and suspense novels. Coonts was originally an aviator in the US Army during the Vietnam War, which he has parlayed into his current career as a novelist. The majority of his books have made their way to the New York Times Bestseller List.

Coonts has several series, including Jake Grafton and Tommy Carmellini. He has also written a few standalone novels, non-fiction books and short stories. Below is a list of all of Stephen Coonts’ novels in order of publication as well as in chronological order:

Get notified when Stephen Coonts releases a new book at

Publication Order of Deep Black Books

(with Jim DeFelice, William H. Keith Jr.)

Publication Order of Jake Grafton Books

Flight of the Intruder (1986)Description / Buy at
Final Flight (1988)Description / Buy at
The Minotaur (1989)Description / Buy at
Under Siege (1990)Description / Buy at
The Red Horseman (1993)Description / Buy at
The Intruders (1994)Description / Buy at
Cuba (1999)Description / Buy at
Hong Kong (2000)Description / Buy at
America (2001)Description / Buy at
Liberty (2003)Description / Buy at
Chronologically, read The Intruders after Flight of the Intruder.

Publication Order of Saucer Books

Publication Order of Tommy Carmellini Books

Liars & Thieves (2004)Description / Buy at
The Traitor (2006)Description / Buy at
The Assassin (2008)Description / Buy at
The Disciple (2009)Description / Buy at
Pirate Alley (2013)Description / Buy at
The Art of War (2016)Description / Buy at
Liberty's Last Stand (2016)Description / Buy at
The Armageddon File (2017)Description / Buy at
The Russia Account (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fortunes of War (1998)Description / Buy at
The Garden of Eden (2005)Description / Buy at
The Sea Witch (2012)Description / Buy at
Clash of the Carriers: The True Story of the Marianas Turkey Shoot of World War II (2018)Description / Buy at
Dragon's Jaw: An Epic Story of Courage and Tenacity in Vietnam (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Cannibal Queen (1992)Description / Buy at
War in the Air (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Notes: Tommy Carmellini not only appears in his own series, but also in the Jake Grafton novels Cuba, Hong Kong, America and Liberty. Liars and Thieves is also known as Wages of Sin. The first six books of the Deep Black series were co-authored with Jim DeFelice. As of Arctic Gold, the Deep Black series is co-authored by William H. Keith. The Garden of Eden was published under the pen name Eve Adams.

If You Like Stephen Coonts Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Stephen Coonts Books

3 Responses to “Order of Stephen Coonts Books”

  1. Chito Fernandez: 9 years ago

    I have been reading Stephen Coonts since Grafton was just new and now he is an admiral witha go to man Carmellini. I’m thankful that he has references to my country Philippines. Which is very rare among American authors.


  2. Gregory Elder: 9 years ago

    Wages of Sin? where does that fit?


  3. she who cares: 10 years ago

    Brilliant read well done


Leave a Reply