Steve McHugh is an English writer best known for writing The Rebellion Chronicles series, The Avalon Chronicles series, and the Hellequin Chronicles series.

Steve writes at a prolific pace and has said that he has 24 books planned in the Hellequin Chronicles series. McHugh’s book, Scorched Shadows, was shortlisted for a Gemmell Award. He was born in a small village called Mexborough, South Yorkshire, but is now located in Southampton where he writes and lives with his wife and their three daughters.

Get notified when Steve McHugh releases a new book at

Publication Order of Avalon Chronicles Books

A Glimmer of Hope (2018)Description / Buy at
A Flicker of Steel (2018)Description / Buy at
A Thunder of War (2018)Description / Buy at
Hunted (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hellequin Chronicles Books

Crimes Against Magic (2012)Description / Buy at
Born of Hatred (2012)Description / Buy at
Infamous Reign (2013)Description / Buy at
With Silent Screams (2014)Description / Buy at
Prison of Hope (2015)Description / Buy at
Lies Ripped Open (2015)Description / Buy at
Promise of Wrath (2016)Description / Buy at
Scorched Shadows (2017)Description / Buy at
Frozen Rage (2020)Description / Buy at
No Gods, Only Monsters (2022)Description / Buy at
Undying (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Rebellion Chronicles Books

Sorcery Reborn (2019)Description / Buy at
Death Unleashed (2020)Description / Buy at
Horsemen's War (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Riftborn Books

The Last Raven (2022)Description / Buy at
Blessed Odds (2023)Description / Buy at
A Talon's Wrath (2023)Description / Buy at
Promise of Vipers (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Wardens Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Those Who Dwell in Darkness (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

If You Like Steve McHugh Books, You’ll Love…

The long-running Hellequin Chronicles starts with Crimes Against Magic. The story begins ten years ago when Nate Garrett wakes up on a cold warehouse floor with no memory of his past. He soon discovers that he’s a powerful sorcerer who has used those powers to become a successful thief. However, the people that stole his memories aren’t done with him yet. They cause a job to go bad and threaten the life of a sixteen-year-old girl so Nate is called to action as he swears to protect her. If Nate wants any hope of stopping this enemy, he’ll first need to confront his own past.

Sorcery Reborn is the first book in the Rebellion Chronicles. The story follows a former sorcerer nmaed Nate Garrett who lost his powers in a battle between good and evil. He now lives a normal life in Oregon as the rest of the world thinks he’s dead. What’s actually going on is Nate and his friends are continuing the fight against Avalon and their evil intent. Nate finds himself trying to stop their plans in his Oregon town without the benefit of his magic. When an old nemesis returns, Nate has no choice but to fight – with or without magic. However, his magic coming back may be the only thing keep everything he loves from being destroyed.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Steve McHugh Books

Leave a Reply