Steve Watkins is an American author of young adult and children’s novels. He writes the Ghosts of War series. Since graduating from Florida State University, Steve has taught journalism, creative writing, and Vietnam War literature at the University of Mary Washington. He also teaches yoga, and works as an investigator and advocate for abused and neglected children through the child advocacy organization CASA. He lives in Fredericksburg, Virginia with his wife Janet, and four daughters – Maggie, Eva, Claire, and Lili. Steve and Janet are co-directors of the religious education program at the Fredericksburg Unitarian Universalist Church.

Steve Watkins made his debut as a published novelist in 2008 with Down Sand Mountain. Below is a list of Steve Watkins’ books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Steve Watkins releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ghosts Of War Books

The Secret of Midway (2014)Description / Buy at
Lost at Khe Sanh (2015)Description / Buy at
AWOL in North Africa (2016)Description / Buy at
Fallen in Fredericksburg (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Vietnam War Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

My Chaos Theory (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Black O: Racism and Redemption in an American Corporate Empire (1997)Description / Buy at
Classic Bengals The 50 Greatest Games in Cincinnati Bengals History (With: Dick Maloney) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

100% Pure Florida Fiction(2000)Description / Buy at

If You Like Steve Watkins Books, You’ll Love…

  • Mariah Fredericks
  • Malorie Blackman
  • Beth Kanell

Steve Watkins Synopsis: What Comes After is a standalone novel by Steve Watkins. After her veterinarian father dies, sixteen-year-old Iris Wight must leave her home in Maine to live on a North Carolina farm with her hardbitten aunt and a cousin she barely knows. Iris, a vegetarian and animal lover, immediately clashes with Aunt Sue, who mistreats the livestock, spends Iris’s small inheritance, and thinks nothing of striking Iris for the smallest offense. Things come to a head when Iris sets two young goats free to save them from slaughter, and an enraged Aunt Sue orders her large son, Book, to beat Iris senseless – a brutal act that sends Book and his mother to jail. Sent to live with an offbeat foster family and their “dooking” ferrets, Iris must find a way to take care of the animals back at the farm, even if it means confronting her aunt.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Steve Watkins Books

Leave a Reply